hibernate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default hibernate

hey how do i put my pc in hibernate, cause when i go to start>turn off computer i only see stand by, restart, and shut down.

this is probably one of those questions when i learn how to do it, feels like its stupid i even asked in the first place . but anyways know how? thanks
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

What does this have to do with

Buying, Building, or Upgrading High Performance PC Systems?
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Just answer the ? When the little box comes up, press and hold shift, and you'll see it take the place of stand by.
viper15 is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Green Radience
What does this have to do with

Buying, Building, or Upgrading High Performance PC Systems?
errr. because if you have a high end computer you can go into hibernate mode to save power:amazed: haha i don't know i was in this part of the forum so w/e

thanks viper
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

hibernate saves as much power as being shut off and it can be set via power options

sorry man you cant set it right away... your computer can only be in hibernation at the minumim of 2 hours of inactivity


i think thats total bull, they should let you have the option to hibernate... its waaayyy better than stand by
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

what do you mean i can't set it right away? go to control panel > power options > hibernate tab > then clikc on enable hibernate.

then as viper said hold shift and you can go into hibernate
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 09:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

standby and hybernate are the same thing..
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 02:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Standby and Hibernate aren't the same thing.

Standby is a 'sleep' state, which leaves the data stored on the RAM. RAM is volatile, so they need to be powered constantly. Switching the PC off from the mains will cause data corruption and you'll lose all work in any active applications, with data residing in the main memory.

Hibernate is a 'deep sleep' state, where all data from RAM is dumped and saved onto the Hard Drive. When you boot the PC back up, it reloads the data from the Hard Drive to the Main Memory. This boot process is therefore slower than Standby, but saves power and you can turn of the mains without damage.

And you can Hibernate a system at any time, at your choosing...just as long as you have it enabled (as Running explained) and you make sure you choose Hibernate (as Viper15 stated).
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

ahhhh ok

o well i just leave mine on lol
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Hibernate is a 'deep sleep' state, where all data from RAM is dumped and saved onto the Hard Drive. When you boot the PC back up, it reloads the data from the Hard Drive to the Main Memory. This boot process is therefore slower than Standby, but saves power and you can turn of the mains without damage.
How is it better than shutting the computer off? That saves power too, lol.
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.