hi..need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2007, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default hi..need help

changing my mobo to this.buying second hand.wonder if i can drop a c2d into this mobo...Yahoo! Classifieds - Merchandise
__________________

__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: hi..need help

The information available at some sites including the description seen at https://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?...&view=detailed indicates having support for the dual core models.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: hi..need help

Nope....it does not support C2D. The only dual core it supports, is Pentium D. Are you buying just the motherboard, or that whole computer for $850. If you're buying the whole thing, I'd say ditch it, because you can build a better rig for that money.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: hi..need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Nope....it does not support C2D. The only dual core it supports, is Pentium D. Are you buying just the motherboard, or that whole computer for $850. If you're buying the whole thing, I'd say ditch it, because you can build a better rig for that money.
Seconded.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Default Re: hi..need help

haha,okay.think i'll forget it and save more for a better system.
__________________
CPU: C2D E8400 @3.8Ghz
MEM: 4x2Gb TeamElite @844Mhz 5-5-5-15
GPU: Sapphire 6950 2 Gb Dirt 3 flashed to 6970
HDD:Western Digital 2x500Gb
PSU: Corsair AX750 Gold
CPUCooling: Noctua NH-U12P
Casing: RaidMax Case
galant_mod is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.