HEY NEED HELP P4 vs AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2006, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default HEY NEED HELP P4 vs AMD

I was wondering wat is the difference between INTEL P4 and any AMD processor and which one do you recommend is better and why?
__________________

pinlos is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

Get an amd athlon 64 x2 3800+ windsor and overclock it
__________________

Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

First, tell us what you plan to do with the processor. In MOST cases with the current processors out, AMD is a lot better. Especially for gaming. Just like Microsoft_Boy said, get an X2 3800+ if you can afford it.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

hey guys im back

but check this out bro you asked a simple question
P4 v.s AMD

AMD rocks the living crap out of P4. so just go with amd on that one
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 04:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i would like to point out that a) AMD is a manufacturer not a processor and b) p4's come in 4 different cores and span from about 1.3ghz to 3.8ghz.......talk about ambiguous. no offence to the original poster as you are asking based on your knowledge.

in general with AMD you get more for your money (at the moment) especially when it comes to gaming. it is not a matter of Athlon's being better than P4's because i can guarantee you a 3000+ doesn't stand up to well against a 3.8ghz P4. it's the fact that AMD offers power at a lower price and does offer several models that are superior to anything Intel currently offers in desktops.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 04:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

AMD for gaming, Intel for encoding video.

But with Conroe set to debut in a week and a half, it will be worth it to wait and see if the hypw is actually right or just hype.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks guys. this is very good help. i didnt know that AMD was a manufacturer not a type of processor. So which processor is betta than a 2.8 P4
pinlos is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

AMD's numbering tells you. They named their processors according to how they scale against the P4s.

3000+ = 3.0 or better
3800+ = 3.8 or better
5000+ = 5.0 or better

Since Intel is dropping the P4 line, the numbers won't mean as much anymore.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

You should wait for Conroe to come out and legimate testing to take place on the new CPUs to decide on your choice. In addition, AMD is planning a major price drop of up to 45ish percent on some of its CPUs like the 3800, etc, etc...If Conroe can live up to the hype, then it will probably be the premier line of CPUs for a while, both for gaming and working with media.
Spartan is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks looks like i am goin to get a AMD Athlon 64 3800 soon as the prices drop. thanks everyone
__________________

pinlos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.