Hey guy. First Build Project. What you think so far? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2006, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default Hi There. First Build Project. What you think so far? Thanks

CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail - $85.00

eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX Video Card - Retail - $169.00

NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE/ATAPI Model ND-3550A - OEM - $37.49

MB Combo ABIT KN8 SLI NVIDIA NF4 SLI/PCI-Express x16/ATA133/Dual DDR400/SATA RAID/USB2.0/Gigabit LAN/8-Channel Audio Socket 939 ATX MB + AMD Athlon 64 3700+ - Retail - $335.45

Nikao Black/Silver AA02 Selected, I TrustATX Mid-Tower Computer Case w/550W Power Supply - Retail - $54.98


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cost With Tax and Shipping comes out to be - $677.17 With Rebates

Looking for a Harddrive to go along with this. Is there any 16mb 7500 100gb HD's that are under say 100 bucks?


Also would like thoughts on my first building of a computer. I wanted to build a computer that was between 700-800 bucks. How well did I do. Thanks
__________________

rzajr21 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

that looks like a great build for the money. there are also plenty of harddrives of that capactiy under $100, just take a look around www.newegg.com.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

thanks bro. Do you think 1gig ram of that kind will be good enough to run BF2 pretty good. I want to play BF2 with medium settings and get good FPS.
rzajr21 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rzajr21
thanks bro. Do you think 1gig ram of that kind will be good enough to run BF2 pretty good. I want to play BF2 with medium settings and get good FPS.
no man. that ram is a waste of money, get cosair value ram instead.
efd753 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

how bout u dont get corsair value ram, and get G.Skill value ram.

and i think ur main isssue on running bf2 will be the GPU.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 08:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

His GPU will be fine... I would mainly focus on ram for bf2..

and get a seperate psu as most that come with the case suck.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

yeah i agree, that ram blows . You could find much better for not as much. And BF2 is a ram intensive game since there are so many people playing it, so for better performance in bf2 i would recommend 2gb, dual channel if your mobo supports it. Finally you can get a 250gb sata hard drive from western digital on newegg.com for $90. Its fast (since its sata) and its got a 16mb buffer, not to mention its a good deal.
tanda317 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

That 7600GT will be fine for BF2. Mine runs BF2 on high, on a high resolution.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Default

tanda funny that you mentioned that harddrive. I just bought that harddrive to go along with this computer. The Ram issue is that it is on its way. I will probably stick with the ram until i get more money to spent on ram.
__________________

rzajr21 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.