Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2008, 10:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

ya 4 tracers would look so awesome in a window case

i think you meant 4 x 1gb not 4 x 2gb
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 07:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Q9300 consume less power than Q6600, Thats really the only advantage of Q9300 have over Q6600.

Q9300 does perform slightly faster stock vs stock. It just about 5% faster. You won't notice the difference.

If you don't plan to overclock Q9300 would be better choice if it cost the same as Q6600

If you plan to overclock then Q6600 would be better because it doesn't have low multiplier like Q9300



The price drop for Q6700 and Q6600 is on April

I heard that Micro center is selling Q6600 for only $199, though.
we all know that, you've argued that same point with Apokalipse about 1000 times

this shows the multipliers of the Yorkfields, and Merkwürdigliebe and my opinion about it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigliebe View Post
doods, what have you been smoking?

Q9300 = 7.5x
Q9400 = 8x (6MB L2 cache)
Q9450 = 8x (12MB L2 cache)
Q9550 = 8.5x
Q9650 = 9x

really gay IMO, it'll be hard for the average person to go over 3.2GHz with that measly 8x multiplier, and for $400... no thank you!

Just to put it into perspective, getting to 3.6GHz on a Q9450 will be the equivalent of getting 4GHz on a Q6600.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 08:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

Check out this motherboard, it seems to be everyone loves it, and I am going to buy it.



Motherboard


DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard

Newegg.com - DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Price: $139.99


StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

I have what I'm going to go with for my build in my sig, it's still opening for editing, but all around it seems to look solid, I'm pretty stoked on it. Thanks for everyones input, keep it coming if you have anything else to say.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
ya 4 tracers would look so awesome in a window case

i think you meant 4 x 1gb not 4 x 2gb
Yea, I'm thinking about going with those still. Since it's a full acrylic case I might, but I also found some rad dominator's at a store around here called Frys that has them at a gnarly price, so we'll see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthTools View Post
Check out this motherboard, it seems to be everyone loves it, and I am going to buy it.



Motherboard


DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard

Newegg.com - DFI LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Price: $139.99


I dig DFI and I've heard great things about their Lan Party mobos. But I've had a great experience with every Gigabyte mobo I've had, and the last P35 one I had was incredible for OC'ing, so I think I might be brand loyal and stick with it, thanks a lot for the input though . If you get it let me know how it performs!
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

if u haven't bought a case

Newegg.com - Antec Performance One P180 Silver cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

thats pretty water cooling friendly and its $80 with this promo code: EMCADBDBD
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

you listed up top that you needed a modular psu, and that is why you didnt want the 520hx?

and unless I am on drugs.. i was fairly certain the 520 is a modular psu..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

yeh the 520hx is a modular psu and i love mine. and also are you sure about an all acrylic case? i really debated getting one and decided against it only because i had too much stuff and couldn't do a good job on the wire management. but if you can do a good job with wire managemnt then by all means go for the case, i would hesitate to recommend it though. also you could go for a q6700, granted its twice as much as the q6600 but its got the 10x multiplier i believe so its a solid choice.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
yeh the 520hx is a modular psu and i love mine. and also are you sure about an all acrylic case? i really debated getting one and decided against it only because i had too much stuff and couldn't do a good job on the wire management. but if you can do a good job with wire managemnt then by all means go for the case, i would hesitate to recommend it though. also you could go for a q6700, granted its twice as much as the q6600 but its got the 10x multiplier i believe so its a solid choice.
ok cool.

and the q6700 is dropping in price to 266 soon. if I remember correctly.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

really that low? thats like a 50% price drop.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input.

yeah, and the q6600 is gonna be 213 I hear. Good things are coming!
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.