help steve thread ( plenty of questions ) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 04:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

ok i am currently saving money for a new pc and just about picked out all the parts for it then my brain went click (painful) and i thought what if so i looked and looked and looked again at everything

now i came up with a few questions mainley about gpu's, cpu's and ram

how dose sli and crossfire work, i know its 2 gpu's in 1 pc but how dose it work, as much info as pos would be great

what gpu's work with sli and crossfire

what would be a good mobo that can do either sli or crossfire with a AM2 socket and good ram slots (like supports 8gb ram)

i would like to know as much info as ever on dual and quod cores specially seen AMD are makeing a quod core. as much as means everything i know they run multitask on the pc but how fast, each chip ect ect ect

if a mobo says it can take 16 gb of ram but only has 4 slots to do so where can i get ram that size to max it out

is the OCZ ram any good

there will probably be mor questions later so thank you first off
__________________

solidsteve is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
ok i am currently saving money for a new pc and just about picked out all the parts for it then my brain went click (painful) and i thought what if so i looked and looked and looked again at everything

now i came up with a few questions mainley about gpu's, cpu's and ram

how dose sli and crossfire work, i know its 2 gpu's in 1 pc but how dose it work, as much info as pos would be great
ATI CrossFire - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Scalable Link Interface - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Two GPUs split the video and each processes half. Supposily reduced CPU stress and GPU stress. But most gaming cards, 8800 series, can be better than SLI configurations.

Quote:
what gpu's work with sli and crossfire
Cards labeled as compatible, also the board needs to be compatiable.

Quote:
what would be a good mobo that can do either sli or crossfire with a AM2 socket and good ram slots (like supports 8gb ram)
8gb of ram is HIGHLY UNNECESSARY. 2gb is well more than adequate.

Quote:
i would like to know as much info as ever on dual and quod cores specially seen AMD are makeing a quod core. as much as means everything i know they run multitask on the pc but how fast, each chip ect ect ect
Dual cores and quad cores are what most people want todays. If you are not "hard-on" an AMD build, you might consider an Intel Duo or Quad core build.

[quote]if a mobo says it can take 16 gb of ram but only has 4 slots to do so where can i get ram that size to max it out[quote]
Which motherboard? Are you looking at server motherboards? More ram=/=more game performance

Quote:
is the OCZ ram any good
there will probably be mor questions later so thank you first off
Yes, and no. OCZ is a great gaming brand. But there are other cheaper brands, like Crucial, gskills, geil, or Corsair.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

thanks

i am more of a AMD fan, thats all i have had in my pc's up to now and not had a problem with them so its all good

and you sumed me up in on with the memory OVER THE TOP
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
thanks

i am more of a AMD fan, thats all i have had in my pc's up to now and not had a problem with them so its all good

and you sumed me up in on with the memory OVER THE TOP
If you only get 2GB of RAM, keep room to upgrade.

Hellgate London recommends 3GB...
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

With Windows Vista you currently only should use 4gig even thoug it supports up to 16 (supposedly). Friends that have used more than 4gig have told me that its highly unstable in the X64 environment. Not only that, youd need alot of cash to afford 4 2gig sticks.

Also, quad cores arent really neccesary but if you can afford 8gig of that RAM then i suppose by all means go for it.

SLI/X-Fire is extremely overrated. Like has been said, you can get a high end card for the price of 2 mid range cards and it will out do them. BUT if like i said before, if you can afford it 2 8800ultras in SLI is amazing.

Quote:
Hellgate London recommends 3GB...
I dont see why, the game (no offesne to anybody) sucks. It looks arcadish and dosent look on par with the other demos coming out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

Amount of RAM used depends on your OS.

32bit Windows Vista only really utilizes up to 3 gigs of RAM for most applications, so having 4 or more gigs with 32bit vista is really a waste to me. This is why you see guys like HP and Dell and crap selling their higher-end computers with the 3gb option of RAM with 32bit vista.
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

I was talking X64 myself, but the reason the corporate flakes offer 3gig is so they can still get SOME performance withh all the BS they put in the background with Vista as an OS. 3gig is doing me wonders in XP though. Its so smooth and nice.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

ok 4gb of ram is good nothing over the top but still get a nice amount there


Got a quad core question again

the intel Q6600 says it runs at 2.4ghz is that per chip or is that split, is it the same with the dual cores
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
Got a quad core question again

the intel Q6600 says it runs at 2.4ghz is that per chip or is that split, is it the same with the dual cores
Basically, a Q6600 is two E6600s put together, on the same die.

It's 2.4GHz per core. But not combined. So it wouldn't be running at 9.6GHz. It's just simply four cores, at 2.4GHz each.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: help steve thread ( plenty of questions )

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Basically, a Q6600 is two E6600s put together, on the same die.

It's 2.4GHz per core. But not combined. So it wouldn't be running at 9.6GHz. It's just simply four cores, at 2.4GHz each.
ok thank you, there is still more questions comming to so thank you
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Help - Add. to Beta Build Thread blucube New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-04-2007 04:32 PM
Lots of questions help.... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-01-2007 02:28 AM
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.