help for setting up server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2009, 10:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Question help for setting up server

hi ,
i need to know the basic requirements for setting up a server with following needs

a) about 250-300users can see videos from it (they cant download) at the same time .
b) same number of users will be playing games and i will be hosting about 10 gaming servers (4 counter strike , 4 age of empires,2 call of duty).

also usres will be connected to server through WLAN and cant share data with each other .

so i need to know these basic things about the machine :-
1. RAM

AND THIS WONT BE HOSTED THROUGH INTERNET JUST LAN CONNECTIVITY(with permission to users only to download and play through server not from each other).


woolrang is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: help for setting up server

please help

woolrang is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: help for setting up server

It seems that nobody's really sure and TBH it's a pretty unusual requirement. It will all depend on the software you want to use for the video, what resolution and the requirements for the gaming servers. I have looked and they describe the specs required for playing the games but I cannot find the specs required for serving a set number of users.
What I was able to find were some specs for servers being advertised to clans and they seemed fairly reasonable. Not really sure how many simultanious users are normal for clans but I will assume the servers are safe for about 30.
You might be ok with a dual socket motherboard with 5000 series xeons or 2000 series opterons. Either way you will need to fill up on RAM, a good dual socket board will have 8 DIMM slots but 2GB is the highest economical capacity for those DIMMs which puts you at 16GB.
One thing to note is that if the machine I have just described is not powerful enough, the cost of a machine that is will be considerably higher since it will probably involve 4 8000 series opterons.

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clonezilla Server. How do I go about this? Jayce Linux and Open Source 1 12-11-2008 02:50 PM
Terminal License Server - Expired !! roumieh2000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-04-2008 12:46 AM
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 06:13 PM
Convince me to build a server.....please jfenwick System Upgrades 5 10-30-2007 12:27 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.