Help, PSU!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2009, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Help, PSU!!

Anyways can someone just tell me if ATX PSU are able to fit into a dell 531s....EMPHASIS ON THE "S", which means slim.

Here are the PSU i want to use.
Please tell me which ones can fit?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

if none fit, can someone suggest a power supply that can fit and is about 450W-500W?

In addition i was on dell chat.
The agent said that my dell 531s can only handle a 250W...I hope she/him is inaccurate. I also need the 500W PSU since i just ordered a low-profile 9800GT. However if the agent was accurate. Should i get a new motherboard, and case? or should i make the PSU external? Also the meaning that my computer can only handle a 250W, does it mean that if i go over 250W, will it overheat the motherboard? If so is there anyway to cool it down like CRAZY!
__________________

arent is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

What motherboard do you have? Is it a proprietary? Is your 9800gt a pci-express? Does your motherboard have an expansion slot for that?

If your motherboard is suiting your needs and matches a micro-ATX form factor, you could just get a new case and transplant your system. If you get a decent case/PSU then you could even re-use them if you ever build a new system.
__________________

Thilly is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

well, im planning to get a new motherboard now, and a new case.

heres the the motherboard im planning to get.
ECS Geforce6100PM-M2 AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
and heres the case,
RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply

I can transfer all my 3GB RAM to my motherboard right, no matter what?
Also can i transfer my Dual AMD 64 X2 5000+?
and my harddrive?

also the case says its a ATX compatible, but the motherboard is a microATX. Will it fit still?
arent is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

Newegg.com - JetWay JHA06-GT-LF AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

These are better items for you to consider, I wouldnt not get a apevia psu. And as far as i know a computer doea no have a limit of the wattage it can support, the power supply only provides the power a system demands.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 07:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

I agree with baron on the case/psu.

As far as the motherboard goes, if you are buying a standalone videocard, you might as well not get a board with integrated graphics. You can probably save a bit of money that way.

Make sure your cpu can fit into the AM2 series sockets before buying your board, also. And make sure your RAM is 240-pin DDR. I am not familiar with your dell's specs, so maybe if you could let me know what is actually inside of your computer, I can help you make some choices and what you can and cannot transplant to save some money.
Thilly is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

if you bought a new mobo, you'd have to buy a new case anyway because it would not fit in the dell case.

get the items baron suggested, everything will work when you transfer it onto the new mobo.

it dosen't matter if the mobo has onboard video, it will work the same. youd have to buy a older 770 board, or a more expensive 790x/fx board. the jetway mobo is fine.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

wait cant i just take off the onboard video card on the mobo, and replace it with a new one. Cause i canceled the 9800GT. and ordered a combo deal, which includes a mobo and a 250GTS. Also the RAM technology is DDR2 SDRAM. how do i find out what is the amount of pin-DDR it has?
arent is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

im planning to get this

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

and

Newegg.com - RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply - Computer Cases

also the motherboard can fit into the RAIDMAX case right? Im also guessing, since the video card is coming with the motherboard as a combo, the video card can fit into the motherboard?
arent is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

I wouldn't use the power supply that comes with that case as it's pretty low quality.I would also avoid ECS motherboards, they aren't a very good brand. The parts baron5 posted would be a lot better.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Help, PSU!!

edit: beat me >.< ECS isn't a very good brand, and that is a rather old mobo.

the specs for the 531s say that it comes with ddr2 533, so it should work.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this PSU work? 1mike System Upgrades 17 07-10-2009 05:56 PM
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.