Help please!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2007, 10:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help please!!

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Value 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory - Retail

How much ram do you have now? And how many sticks, because your computer, only has two ram slots.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 03:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default Re: Help please!!

I have one ram slot used with 512 and um.. Im gonna install the a 1gb one tommorow. The problem is the hardrive though.. is it normal to only have 36 gb when for 80 bucks it has 360 gb!
__________________

monster12348 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 04:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Help please!!

If it's an 10k RPM drive...thats normal.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 04:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help please!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by monster12348 View Post
I have one ram slot used with 512 and um.. Im gonna install the a 1gb one tommorow. The problem is the hardrive though.. is it normal to only have 36 gb when for 80 bucks it has 360 gb!

That's normal, because like Sora said, it's a 10k rpm hard drive. The 320gb for $80 is 7200k rpm. Yes, the 10k rpm is faster, but that system is so outdated.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default Re: Help please!!

lol and wat do u think I should do... maybe I should make a new computer with these parts and new parts and a chassis with a couple hundred dollars... the problem is that I dont know **** about computers
monster12348 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help please!!

Yea, definitely make a new computer and a chassis. Don't worry, it's not as hard as it looks. We'll be here.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default Re: Help please!!

can anyone help me find a new videocard... I only have 60 bucks though
monster12348 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help please!!

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100575L Radeon 9600XT 256MB 128-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Help please!!

if ur goin to upgrade buildin a whole new rig is the way to go, depending on how old ur com is, for u new rig
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default Re: Help please!!

isnt that expensive
__________________

monster12348 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.