Help:Perfect custom built computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZeeLex

Solid State Member
HI. This is my first time building a PC and I need your advice to build it. The hard part is choosing the right parts witch as compatible with each other. I am going to use this PC for web designing, photo/audio/video editing and some Adobe CS3 products.
So far I choose these parts from TigerDirect.com

1.Case:Ultra Black Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Front USB, Firewire and Audio Ports And Ultra X2 550-Watt Power Supply .

2.Motherboard:Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX Motherboard / Viiv Ready / Audio / PCI Express / Gigabit LAN / S/PDIF / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID

3.Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz / 4MB Cache / 1066MHz FSB / Conroe / Dual-Core / OEM / Socket 775 / Processor

4. RAM: I want 4bg or ram. but I don`t know what to choose.(need advice)

5. Video card: (need advice).

6. other Parts: (need advice).

Thanks for advice

RAM: look for a 2gb dual-stick (meaning 2, 2gb sticks). in my opinion, thats too much gb but if ur planning ahead thats good. but then again, its way expensive compared to a 2 x 1gb ram.

video card, check that sticky with the graphics card rankings. 8800 is very new so if u want to spend loads of money, u can go for that.

u might want a powersupply because i've been hearing that power supplies that come with cases are not that great in quality.

other than that, you'd need a hard drive, and cd or dvd drives if u prefer. (or floppy)

the other stickied guides are pretty useful too.

btw, not sure but newegg has been recommended by many users over tigerdirect..??

Motherboard:
Newegg.com - ASUS P5B Deluxe LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Stick with E6600

Memory:
Newegg.com - OCZ Vista Upgrade 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail