Help with PC build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2007, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Help with PC build

Hello All, looking for suggestions on a new PC build. I do most of my purchasing through NewEgg. I'm looking to build something really nice, price isn't too much of an object. I'd like to have an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 2gbs of Ram, and a really nice motherboard. I also need a good case (prefer something non-fancy without lights)but very good air flow, and a very nice PSU since PC will be left on 24 hours a day. Will also need a sound card, and for video, since this PC will not do any real gaming or graphics, something maybe around the $100 range. The PC will be used for Video Encoding primarily. No need for keyboard, mouse, speakers or monitor. Just want to make sure it's upgradable and use solid brand name components in case my needs change.

Thanks for any help

Oh, I also was planning on buying this hard drive. Western Digital 500gb
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136014
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I would for srue recommend the Centurion case. Very cheap, extremely well built, and great airflow. Also completely tool less and great to work in.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

Case looks good

If anyone can please recommend a good SLI motherboard, plus an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, as well as a 2gbs of good ram 2gbs I think I can figure out the rest.

I'd LIKE to spend less or around $300 on CPU, and $150 on motherboard, and $200 on ram, if that helps. Again, prefer to get from NewEgg so if you have any links please post.
Shafra is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 08:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

It might be easier if you gave an overall budget and the we might be able to build you the best computer for that price and according to your requirements.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - 317.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003
GIGABYTE GA-965G-DS3 - 135.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128018
Antec SmartPower 2.0 500W - 70.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937
pqi 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 667 - 189.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141017
LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+RW - 37.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106055
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 - 50.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119077
eVGA GeForce 7600GS - 105.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130075
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks Nukem. I really like that build Can anyone recommend a motherboard that has SLI capability that will work with the E6600. I just want to have the option in the future and would rather spend the extra money now.

Thanks for the help
Shafra is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

I would save the money on sli and get a mid range dx10 card (when they come out) to replace that 7600gs. But if you really want sli, the asus 650i is about $140 i think on newegg but its 8x 8x and not 16x 16x. The 16x 16x sli motherboards for the conroes are kinda expensive right now ($250 for an evga 680i board).

But saving the money and getting a mid range dx10 card later would be better then getting two 7600gs in sli with 8x 8x bandwidth.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

agreed... if gaming is not going to be your primary thing, then getting a mid range card now and/or a DX10 mid range later will work for you. Thats's why I choose the card I did. and to be honest, SLI is not all that big a deal, unless your going to go for the bragging rights of frames per second, or how high you can over clock it...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

You're probably right, Darkop.

Anyone know anything about the video that is built into that above Gigabyte board for $135? Would it be sufficent to run basic apps while I save up for a good video board?

Thanks for the help.

Also, I read the reviews on the PQI ram and it sounds like it may be crummy, but very well priced. Can someone recommend a better quality ram as well? I'll just stick with 2 512MB chips for dual channel. Only memory I have ever purchased was Corsair and it ran well, so if someone knows of 2 good 512mb chips that work on the Gigabyte board let me know
Shafra is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

basic apps yes, but no gaming...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.