Help with operating system dilemma - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default Help with operating system dilemma

I finally have gotten my new computer put together and have gotten it to turn on. The computer is a E6600, Asus P5b-e, 8800 GTS, etc. However, I just realized that I only have a Windows cd that is from Dell. I have heard that this cd will automatically install the drivers for my Dell motherboard. The dilemma is that I want Vista and I don't want to have to buy XP and then buy Vista. I know Microsoft is doing a special for prebuilt computers, but I can only find one special from NewEgg on just buying XP. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837116195

Does anyone have advice? I really want to get my system up and running before Vista comes out. Does anyone know any tricks with the Dell XP cds?
__________________

06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

you can run it... only for 30 days though...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Run what? Vista?
06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

XP on the dell cd.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

actually i dont think you can use that disk, unless you use your old dell motherboard

just get windows the not so legal way *shifty eyes*
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

You can use the Dell CDs for XP, but as everyone else said, the 30 days rule is in effect unless you dig up an activation code. Haha, this reminds me of the internet WWWWizzard, "You must have to have it for thirty days!"
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116169

XP home with VISTA COUPON for just 89.99
instead of the 200+ one u posted

or if u want 64 bit
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116179
Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition SP2b 1pk w/Upgrade Coupon for Vista - OEM for $139.99

should also come with the 64 bit version of vista, but YOU have to check up on it, I do NOT know for sure
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Fatclown. I also just found that you can get a free 120 day trial of Windows XP 64. I downloaded it and burned it to a cd. I am currently installing it on my system. I hope this works and will hold me over until Vista comes out.
06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Just to update everyone and inform anyone with the same problem. I was able to download XP 64 bit edition trial and copy it to a cd as an ISO. I finished installing XP around midnight last night. It seems descent, but I have found some software that won't run on the 64 bit version of XP.
06MustangGT is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

some software you have to find the 64 bit edition for. Most 32 bit software should run ok but some you have to find the 64 bit edition to run on. Im not quite sure how that works though (im not much in the software side of things), but you could make a topic in the windows os thread to get better help there.
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.