help a noob out... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default help a noob out...

ok, heres my deal, im a student, and i do a lot of editing, both audio, and video... but my computer keeps locking up. i know its not the software, its my cpu or RAM, or i think it is...everytime i look at my "performance meters" my CPU meter is at 100% most of the time... i installed new RAM, all of them are DDR400 (i have a total of 1.5 gigs), but i don't see any performance increase... any help would be great!!! here are my specs, just incase you need them:

motherboard:Gigabyte K8 Triton AGP8X/DDR400

Processor: AMD Antholon 64 ( its says 2800+, socket 754 on the box, i have no idea what it means) ... 1.81Ghz

video card: ATI radeon 9550

200gig harddrive

1.5 gig of RAM

if you need more specs let me know and i'll try to find them out...

any advice would be great!

thanks in advance
__________________

Graphcsguru is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

I am wondering if it possibly might be 2 things: 1) a heating issue or 2) a power supply issue. Can you test your cpu, etc., tempertatures? Also, what power supply do you have and how much wattage does it supply?
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

i just restarted my comp. and went into bios to see my temp. it said : 32deg. C, and as for my power supply its a regular 350. ... and maybe you can explain something to me, when my comp. started, it said my CPU speed was 2ooMHz, should it be faster?
Graphcsguru is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

How about doing the usual maintenance stuff, like scanning for viruses with updated antivirus, scanning for spyware etc, defragging hard drive, running scandisk, shutting down unnessasary background programs.......etc..

Otherwise if you think your cpu temp is ok. Use this to check it:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloadge...8369751fbfc879

Then check your video card temps too:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloadge...1c5f664e0110f7

Also double check all your connections inside your pc are secure....with the system off and you grounded...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

i D/L-ed those things and evrything looks fine... i got a question about one of them, it said im able to overclock my video card, would that be a wise thing to do, and if so... how much? right now its at
core clock: 249.8
memory clock:195.8
Graphcsguru is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

thats weird my neighbour had a similar problem he had a celeron 2.4ghz, and the CPU was always just at 100% and it was really slow even without anything running... even installing extra fans it never helped... we never found out the problem...
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 10:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
How about doing the usual maintenance stuff, like scanning for viruses with updated antivirus, scanning for spyware etc, defragging hard drive, running scandisk, shutting down unnessasary background programs.......etc..
Yeah, I'm definately suspecting background programs...


How many processes are you running in your task manager buddy?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

ok, it says i'm running 43 processes... but when im editing i usually close about 5... the ones that i know i don't need to be running... the others... i have no idea what they do, how do i know which ones to keep on, or kill?
Graphcsguru is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 06:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

go through pages 87 and 91 of the tweak guides tweaking companion too disable unnecessary startup items and services, you can download it at www.tweakguides.com

Go through the whole guide if you have time, it makes a huge difference.
macdawg is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

I have 24 running processes after a fresh reboot and my cpu usauge is 0 to 2%.

Go to start/run and type 'msconfig'. Go to the start up tab and disable everything except your antivirus. (hopefully u are using something like avg antivirus/ do not use Norton as it is a system hog). Then reboot your system. You will not lose these programs but will just have to start them manually when you need them. After doing this tell us what your cpu usage is.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.