Help with New System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Help with New System

I am putting together a new system that I am going to buy from a local computer vendor. Here is the proposed setup. Please tell me what you all think about this proposed system. I plan to use the system for photo editing, video editing and some gaming.

Mid Tower ATX Case with 600watt Power Supply
EVGA LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i Ultra 1333FSB (Retail Box 3 yr warranty)
Intel Quad Core 2 QX6600 2.4GHz Processor (Retail Box 3 yr warranty)
4GB DDRII Kingston 800MHzMemory (Retail Box Lifetime warranty)
2x 150GB SATA WD Raptor 10,000rpm RAID 0 Strip (Retail Box 5 yr warranty)
1x 500GB SATA-II Western Digital (Retail Box 3 yr warranty)
Nvidia 8800GTS 320MB PCIx Video Card (Retail Box 3 yr warranty)
2X Blu-ray Disc Triple DVD Burner 12X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit

*****************************************
Quoted Price is $2699
*****************************************

I want to add a TV Tuner card so I can capture and watch tv and record it like a DVR. I am also considering whether I need a better video card.

Any thoughts on this system would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Help with New System

i'd go with a EVGA 680i motherboard and at least a GTX if you are gonna be spending that much money

and do you honestly need a blu-ray burner?

oh yeah EVGA offers a lifetime warranty on motherboards and video cards FYI
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help with New System

=D

Wish list details
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Help with New System

I'd do a raid5 rather than a raid0, just buy one more raptor. Raid0 is very inefficient. Buying 2 drives to get to use 1?
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help with New System

Hey MacDaddyGator,
Welcome to T.F.!!


My goodness, you are insane...and loaded.

Well you should drop those Raptors, and get two WD 750GB for RAID 0, as they are almost as fast as those Raptors. Plus you get way more space.

Like mgcook said. Is it really necessary for a Blu-Ray Burner?

Theres a QX6600? Or do you mean Q6600.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help with New System

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Hey MacDaddyGator,
Welcome to T.F.!!


My goodness, you are insane...and loaded.

Well you should drop those Raptors, and get two WD 750GB for RAID 0, as they are almost as fast as those Raptors. Plus you get way more space.

Like mgcook said. Is it really necessary for a Blu-Ray Burner?

Theres a QX6600? Or do you mean Q6600.
QX6600 is Core 2 Quad Extreme 6600, i think, unlocked multipliers

EDIT:nvm
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Help with New System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
Raid0 is very inefficient. Buying 2 drives to get to use 1?
Seconded. Use that burner to do backups, drop the stupid RAID0 (which offers almost no performance benefit, in reality) and now you've got redundancy *and* twice the hard drive space.

And unless you're into anything that involves loading massive files (like video editing or really heavy Photoshopping with 1GB+ files), the increased RPM of the Raptors isn't going to do you any good, and will cost you more money. Just put the money into bigger drives instead.
__________________
War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless made or kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.

-- John Stuart Mill
CitizenCain is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Help with New System

If he edits video even a blu-ray disc won't hold the things he needs to backup. A couple hours of RAW HD feed? Oh dear jesus...

NORMAL, NON HD video uses like 400mb/minute...imagine 1 hour of HD? Wowzas.

I'd use a Raid 5, though, not a raid 0.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Help with New System

I will be photo editing with 16,000KB files, using photoshop CS3 and Photoshop lightroom. I will also do some video editing, but I don't know much about the video editing. My daughter has been taking some classes to do video editing. I want to make sure the computer will be able to handle it.

As to the QX6600 versus the Q6600. I don't really know the difference between the two.

As to the RAID, the hope is to make the video processing faster. If the RAID setup is wrong, I need to tell the guy so we get it right.

As to the Blu Ray recorder. I have a PS3 and I thought it might make sense to be able to record movies off cable and to the Blu Ray and play it on PS3 in my bedroom. Upon really considering this, it might be smarter to wait on the BluRay recorder until they become better and cheaper. I really don't have a great need for this.

I am amazed that you guys are offering me smart input. I don't mind spending the money on a good system, but I don't want to throw it away. I want to make sure I am spending my money where it will make the system better.

By the way, don't I need a sound card and speakers?

Thanks again for all of the input.
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 10:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Help with New System

Just to make it clear, this computer is just for fun, and the video editing portion is for my 12 year old daughter's interest in video editing. It is not like we are going to be making feature movies.
__________________

MacDaddyGator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.