Help Needed For Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 02:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 67
Default Help Needed For Motherboard

I am about to build a new computer and decided to go with
a AMD Athlon 64 2X 3800+ processor.

What is recommended for an excellent motherboard ?

Thanks

RobertXYZ
__________________

RobertXYZ is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

This is what everyone will tell you, and I completely agree. The quality and features are just THERE.

DFI Socket 939 Lanparty Ultra-D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

The second board I'd go for is this one... Great quality, less features, but by NO MEANS is it starved for features.

MSI K8N Neo4-F
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

hey those are the two boards i always recommend
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

ASUS A8N SLI series.

If you have the money the DFI boards are the best out there.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

dont go with asus, they are better with intel. asus have problems using amd processors
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I've only had a quick scan through it, and they like it alot there if you are not doing huge overclocks: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=17447769

I remeber reading that they were terrible with Via chipsets. (They were crap anyway, they let down Abits AV8's.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

« i-ram | First Build »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.