Help needed with budget upgrade please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 10:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default Help needed with budget upgrade please!

I have around 250 pounds(around $450) to spend on an upgrade kits with the following requirements:

Gd quality PSU (500+ Watts I guess)
PCI-E motherboard with onboard graphics, but with future support for Direct X 10 GFX cards
At least 1GB RAM (2GB if the budget can support it)
And lastly either an A64 or one of these new dual-core AMDs.

Is it better to get a dual core CPU or to save money and get more RAM with the extra money?

Also a couple of other questions, is it possible using current PCI TV cards to watch one channel whilst recording another?

Also, will any upgrade I do now be fully compatible with Windows MCE2005 and Windows Vista?

Thanks for any advice
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138027

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144326

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

As you're from the UK, I suggest looking on ebuyer.com and scan.co.uk. They have great prices on most things. But I also would reccommend checking out eBay UK. You could save a lot of cash there
Shando is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Yeah I know a couple of gd UK sites worth ordering from, but I need to know what components to get.

Such as whether to get a dual core processor or not.
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Thanks for the recommendations.

I notice that is a micro ATX board, will that fit fine in an ATX case?

What's the difference between a Micro ATX board and an ATX board, are there any features lacked?
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 12:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Well I'm guessing you want to do a lot of gaming. in which case I would go for a dual core
Shando is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Yeah, it's going to be used mainly for gaming and photoshop.
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

would dual cores be that good for gaming? i thought they were ment for multitasking insted of just being fast. wouldnt an amd single core be better for gaming.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

dual core all the way. I would go with a dual core definately, a 4200 if you can afford it or a 3800. Both are good procesors. theres an antec smartpower 500w for only 69 usd on new egg so look for that one on one of those sites. 2 gb of RAM is probably gonna be almost half your budget, but it's big difference over 1 in gaming. And i haven't seen many motherboars with onboard graphics lately, you may have to look around for that.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Is this a good motherboard/CPU combo?

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/94640/rb/21146843905

http://www.compumusic.com/i163196.htm
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.