help need rapid answer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2007, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: help need rapid answer

its to plug into a secure computer server and to minimize risk they no internet access, no optical drive and no open usb ports. you have to use flop which has got to be one of the gayest things in the world as it can only take info in a 4mb package
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
TuNiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Default Re: help need rapid answer

check the ide cable, its easy to accidentally plug them in backwards and not know wtf is going on.
__________________

__________________
http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u...4/ForumTag.gif
http://www.sloganizer.net/en/image,T...hite,black.png
CPU Type: DualCore Intel Pentium D 820, 2800 MHz (14 x 200)
Motherboard Chipset: Intel Lakeport-G i945G
System Memory: 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
Video Adapter: Radeon X1300 Series (256 MB)
Audio Adapter: Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Audio Controller [A-1]
Disk Drive: WDC WD2500JS-22MHB0 (232 GB, IDE)
Disk Drive: WDC WD1600JS-00SGB0 (149 GB, IDE)
TuNiX is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 03:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: help need rapid answer

its not an ide cable though its a floppy cable
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 04:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: help need rapid answer

perhaps the drive is DOA?? Have you tried it on a different machine to see if it works?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: help need rapid answer

don't have a different desktop to test it on I just pulled it out of the family desktop which has a broken circuit/power board so can't be turned on.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: help need rapid answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
wtf is a floppy drive?







but seriously...do you not have a usb stick?


Some people still don't have USB ports on their computers.
a little more aggresive to my "useless" 1.44 dont you think?
96z28 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 02:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: help need rapid answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I just plugged in a old Samsung SFD-321J/adnr which is a floppy drive. I can't find any drivers online and it isn't automatically shown on "my computer" someone tell me what I have to do as I desperately have to get some work off onto a floppy disk!!!!
What is a floopy drive ?

Try checking the BIOS as some guys have mentioned early most likely is disable or something.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:02 PM   #18 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: help need rapid answer

I have tried all of the bios settings still isn't working lol I think it just hates me. I amanged to do some hotswapping of files using a memory stick to a different computer and burnt a floppy on theres
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: help need rapid answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Some people still don't have USB ports on their computers.
Lol. Its amazing. In the past week, I've seen people with USB 1.1 yet and dial up...get with the times...

Back to the topic: Make sure that the twist in the ribbon cable is plugged into the floppy drive's end and not the motherboard.
ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: help need rapid answer

its working reikokuko just doesn't seem to be able to open any disks..............

I was offered a computer yesterday running win98 and it had usb ports
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OC 3600+ answer needed fast jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 17 09-23-2007 05:31 PM
Unique Question needs a unique Answer ! MrWiggle Viruses, Spyware and Malware 12 07-24-2007 02:45 PM
Need answer ASAP! Max Power New Systems | Building and Buying 16 06-01-2007 09:25 AM
Please Answer Asap!! revenge2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-21-2007 09:56 AM
a question I should know the answer to but don't plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-30-2007 09:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.