Help with my PSU! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 02:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Heres my psu, Newegg.com - OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Retail

it has 4 rails, im guessing that is not the best?
__________________

weezerguy187 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 04:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

I noticed my psu has only 18A allowed on each of the 12v rails. My 8800gt's say they require at least 26A. Is this a problem? I'm so confused! Also, when i connected everything, I didn't designate anything to certain rails, I just put it together. My guess is that is bad. I checked out the PCP&C Silencer 750 and that thing looks nice. Single rail the best?
__________________

weezerguy187 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 09:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezerguy187 View Post
Heres my psu, Newegg.com - OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Retail

it has 4 rails, im guessing that is not the best?
That PSU should be acceptable for your build.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezerguy187 View Post
Heres my psu, Newegg.com - OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V - Retail

it has 4 rails, im guessing that is not the best?
its got enough amperage for your build, and its a bit overkill, plus those GameXstream's have ripples
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 01:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 59
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

So how should i divide between the rails? I've never done this before so any help would be appreciated!
weezerguy187 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
its got enough amperage for your build, and its a bit overkill, plus those GameXstream's have ripples
I thought only the modstream line was garbage?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

look at JonnyGuru's site article about GameXStream's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezerguy187 View Post
So how should i divide between the rails? I've never done this before so any help would be appreciated!
It is not possible with your PSU since it is not modular. According to your psu, #2 12v rail powers one pci-e(6 pin) and the #2cpu(4/8 pin), and #4 12v rail powers the other pci-e. Seems the problem would be on the #2 12v rail as the cpu is pulling on that rail as is the gpu. So, the more you over clock the cpu, the more power it pulls, which leaves less power for the gpu. One way to see if this is happening is set your cpu/gpu to stock settings and run some tests(3DMark,Sandra). Then OC your gpu's, test scores should increase. Then OC the cpu. I would bet you see a drop in scores now or a bsod from not enough power because of rail #2. You may also try swapping the 2 pci-e plugs to your gpu's as one may pull more power than the other. Still bet you will need a new psu because of the rail #2 design.

Also, here is a quote from NewEgg I found. ---->"Cons: Because of the way this PSU is organized you can not run a quad core (let alone an OCd quad) and 8800GTS SLI. I learned this the hard way. The second PCIe power connector shares a rail with CPU#2. This is a problem if you are running a quad, and if your motherboard has an 8pin CPU power connector you should not buy this for your SLI set up."

There are also other comments from people running dual GT 8800 or GTS 8800 with the same problem as you have.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

corsair 620hx or 750tx will be plenty for you
mgcook is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Help with my PSU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
corsair 620hx or 750tx will be plenty for you
The Corsair 620hx has the same problem as the psu he has now, only difference is 3 rails versus 4 rails. The Corsair 650TX/750TX would be a better choice since they are single rail.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.