Help with My New Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2012, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default Help with My New Setup

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum. I just received my Dv6 Quad Ed from HP and had a few things that I wanted checked out before the 21day return period was up. I'm stepping up from a slower heavier Dv7 that was a good laptop, but felt I needed more performance as I am now getting into video editing(mostly 1080p GoPro clips) and running programs such as SolidWorks for my engineering classes. I wasn't looking to spend over a grand and wanted a high WEI subscore. The dv6 seemed to offer what I wanted for only $60 over my limit after tax.

Here are the specs:

dv6t Quad Ed
• steel gray
• Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• 2nd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM (2.2 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) with Turbo Boost up to 3.1 GHz
• 2GB AMD Radeon(TM) HD 7690M GDDR5 Discrete Graphics(TM) [HDMI, VGA]
• FREE UPGRADE to 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 750GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
• No additional security software
• 30% OFF High Capacity 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• 15.6" Full HD HP Anti-glare LED (1920 x 1080)
• FREE UPGRADE to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone and HP SimplePass Fingerprint Reader
• 802.11b/g/n WLAN
• Standard Keyboard with numeric keypad
• HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope


I checked the WEI scores and I wasn't too impressed.


Processor 7.5
Memory 7.6
Graphics (Intel(R) HD Graphics Family) 5.9
Gaming Graphics (5861MB Total Available Memory) 6.6
Primary Hard disk (630GB Free / 673GB Total) 5.9

Now I know 5.9 was the best for Vista but now it's 7.9 for Windows7. I was hoping to see at least 6.5+ for the graphics card as other similar setups have achieved that.

Here is a link to a Dv7 that is setup very close to mine and pulled a 6.6 WEI vs my 5.9 WEI:

HP dv7t Quad Review

That Dv7 scored a much higher benchmark score compared to mine:

Generic VGA video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-2670QM Processor,Hewlett-Packard 17FA score: 2445 PCMarks
(You can see the Error message telling me the graphics card isn'trecognized. What's up with that???)

Here are some more details on my setup:
file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/B...rrett-HP).html

Please let me know if HP provided me with everything I paid for and if everything is performing a 100%.

I'm really thinking about sending this unit back and building something with at least a 6.5+ WEI subscore.

Thanks for your input in advance.
__________________

i7man is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

Well, no matter what the overall WEI score is going to be limited to 5.9 because of your HDD. But, to be honest, I wouldn't worry too much about the WEI score, it's not a very good benchmark of your system at all. As long as the laptop is performing well with what you need it to do, what's the problem?
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 02:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

I want to make sure I get every cent of performance out of this 1000 dollars I just dropped. I know I will get down the road later on after I've had time to research and learn everything and wish I would have done something different. I was just hoping some of you on here with more expertise could help critique my exact setup. I don't mind sending this unit back to HP if I can get a better setup for around the same amount of money.

On the bright side I just switched my card from dynamic to fixed and ran wei again and now my scores are 7.5, 7.6, 6.9, 6.9, 5.9. I feel much better seeing those numbers. Are there any disadvantages from switching my card to "fixed" over "dynamic"?

Ok I've been using YouTube to get quicker feedback..come on guys don't let that be the case. Help me out! Anyways this is the response I got after asking about the fixed vs dynamic:
Just that the screen will blink every time u plug and unplug the computer. plugged will be always running the amd even if is not necessary. On battery only the intel HD3000, unless you change the settings (right clic on the desktop) with the shorten battery life as side effect if you do so.
i7man is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

I think you got a great laptop for $1000. You're WEI score is likely as high as it'll go, and like I said before, it doesn't matter anyways.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

―\_(ツ)_/―
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

The only way you could improve it right now would be to go with a solid state drive.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The only way you could improve it right now would be to go with a solid state drive.
^this. Even that would only really improve boot times, and load his apps faster. I just don't see the point in worrying about WEI scores.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

thanks for the input fellas..so far it's been a great computer and seems to only be limited by my sorry *** internet provider
i7man is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by i7man View Post
thanks for the input fellas..so far it's been a great computer and seems to only be limited by my sorry *** internet provider
Yeah, don't stress over what Windows thinks of your computer, because that score is honestly garbage. My 2600k @5.2ghz only gets a 7.7.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: Help with My New Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
Yeah, don't stress over what Windows thinks of your computer, because that score is honestly garbage. My 2600k @5.2ghz only gets a 7.7.
7.7 out of 7.9 isnt bad though. anyways, your right it doest make sense, my 8gb ram at 1600mhz gets 7.7 which is nearly top score even though you can get lots more ram and better speeds.
My ssd gets a rating of 5.9 for disk data transfer rate, not sure how that works.
__________________

__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple monitor Eyefinity setup, what's the best affordable setup CalcProgrammer1 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-24-2010 10:59 PM
Windows XP Setup Restarts the Setup Program When Your Computer Restarts Jon_M63 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-16-2010 07:40 PM
Make Win Setup-Disk that also installs applications during setup Xenesis Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-26-2009 06:39 PM
Cooling setup that includes Heat Pipes, Peltier and a liquid setup. enGRAVEr Overclocking and Modding 2 07-08-2005 08:43 AM
Setup Not complete. Please Run Setup Again error WillyWonka Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-23-2004 02:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.