Help with my machine! (Graphic designer). - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2007, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

I'm a graphic designer who multitasks a lot (i.e open photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver, bridge) at the same time... and later on i will be doing some 3D rendering work. I also play games on my spare time. Need to upgrade my hunk of junk! 1400mhz 256mb <-- 7 year old comp.

Got enough money to buy a computer on the weekend! But I'm just stuck at what motherboard to buy... any tips please?

I think i will get these:

Q6600 CPU
640MB 8800 GTS
500GB 7200rpm
3x1GB Corsair 667mhz

Okay well, I was wondering should I get the P5k asus or the P5k-E or the GA-P35. Now I have heard the P5k-E can overclock better but i will have to blow another AU$70.

I will have standard cooling in my computer though, so I think I would only go to about 2.6ghz anyway on the q6600 right?
Another thing, should I stay with 640MB 8800 GTS or go with 320MB 8800 GTS? OR blow another AU$100 or so for a GTX?


Also , a store clerk recommended the BFG nForce mobos , I wonder if these are good?

Thanks for any good advice.
__________________

CixXy is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 04:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

Go for the Gigabyte P35, make sure this is the Harddrive you're getting (it's the fastest 500GB I know of) Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM . Get this CPU cooler, Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail and you an overclock your Q6600 easily to 3.0ghz which will help you a lot when you're going to do 3d rendering. Since you're doing design work, you should get at least a 22" monitor, but this 24" is on sale and is definitely a good buy, I would highly recommend it if you're willing to spend a little more : Newegg.com - Westinghouse L2410NM Glossy Black 24" 8ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 500 cd/m2 1000:1 Built in Speakers - Retail
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

If you want to do 3D work, go with an Nvidia Quadro series card. I would go with the ga-p35.

You also want to get 2x1GB + 2x512MB so you can run your memory in dual channel.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

turtile, he plays games in his spare time, and obviously those cards cant do video games. Also they're mega expensive
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

Im an architecture student/3d artist so i know where you are coming from...

My current setup is exactly what i need - it has the brute horsepower for rendering with the quad and the gts, and the 4gb is one of the best choices i have ever made (although you will need a 64bit OS for that). The great thing about having this much ram is that things like photoshop runs soooo smoothly even with alot of large files open.

My gpu is, suprisingly, the weakest link but still able to play pretty much any game on high settings (does slow down in world of conflict sometimes). But it is a great balance between work and gaming.

So i say go for the DS3R - and dont worry about overclocking, i am on 3.3ghz with stock air and its the older G0 stepping. If you have enough left over put it toward 4gb of 800mhz ram.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 09:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

can i ask how big is your moniter? i'd recommend a 2900XT...
darksideleader is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Im an architecture student/3d artist so i know where you are coming from...

My current setup is exactly what i need - it has the brute horsepower for rendering with the quad and the gts, and the 4gb is one of the best choices i have ever made (although you will need a 64bit OS for that). The great thing about having this much ram is that things like photoshop runs soooo smoothly even with alot of large files open.

My gpu is, suprisingly, the weakest link but still able to play pretty much any game on high settings (does slow down in world of conflict sometimes). But it is a great balance between work and gaming.

So i say go for the DS3R - and dont worry about overclocking, i am on 3.3ghz with stock air and its the older G0 stepping. If you have enough left over put it toward 4gb of 800mhz ram.
meat helmets build is perfect... just save some cash by going with a p35-ds3l or the Abit IP35-e
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingAustin View Post
turtile, he plays games in his spare time, and obviously those cards cant do video games. Also they're mega expensive
They can play games, but the drivers are optimized for 3D development.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

thank you all so much... very helpful feedback.

my monitor is 20" viewsonic yeah you guys are right i might need a bigger one for graphic design

i went with the GTX after seeing meat's reply

my whole setup now:

P35C-DS3R Mobo <-- the store didnt have the normal P35 but the better one instead in stock so i just went with it
Q6600 g0 stepping
ASUS 8800 GTX
Seagate 7200rpm 16mb cache 500GB
4x1GB 667mhz Corsair <--- cant afford 800mhz im afraid, meat.

The store didnt have that Arctic Cooling fan, but I might order it later, austin. So right now i wont try OC to 3ghz lol

Just wondering,...
Quote:
My current setup is exactly what i need - it has the brute horsepower for rendering with the quad and the gts, and the 4gb is one of the best choices i have ever made (although you will need a 64bit OS for that). The great thing about having this much ram is that things like photoshop runs soooo smoothly even with alot of large files open.
Why do i need a 64bit OS for 4GB of memory? I'm quite afraid of vista so I was going to self install my copy of XP instead.
CixXy is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

You don't need to get Vista. He was just saying that 64bit Vista runs best with 4gb of ram.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
graphic design codingmaster Web Graphics and Design 15 11-12-2007 10:41 PM
Graphic card problems viper_992000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-13-2007 09:55 PM
Ram & Graphic Card Question .. AhBeng Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-26-2007 02:27 PM
Microsoft Sharepoint designer 2007 mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-30-2007 01:15 PM
can you guys help me to switch to being an administrator on my windows vista machine rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.