Help with memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2006, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default Help with memory

i am building a new computer and i want to buy a 1GB of memory for around 100 dollars, what should i get?
__________________

mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

DDR or DDR2?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

DDR2. This is the motherboard im getting GIGABYTE GA-965P-DQ6 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard.
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I don't think you can get much more than value RAM with 100 bucks. That is fine if you don't plan on doing some high-end overclocking, and by the way it looks, with that motherboard you picked out, looks like you are; because that is what the motherboard is specifically made for. If you not overclocking I would go with the GA-965P-DS3, but if it's SLI your looking at, there are cheaper alternatives.

If your planning on upgrading to 2GB in the future I would recommend getting a single 1GB stick until you can buy another and dual channel them in 2GB (like what I'm doing).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146580
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to mizner07
Default

Yea i am looking to overclook, aloso i am later going to upgrade to 2GBs of memory
mizner07 is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 06:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

go with the ds3 it is just as good and its cheaper and with the extra money you can get this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145153
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Your not going to find good OC'able ram for under 100. The best your going to get is this one right here.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

This G.Skill from reviews says it OC's EXCELLENT for the price. Plus $115 isnt bad for something like that.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.