Help me upgrade my set up! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2013, 12:58 AM   #31 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Help me upgrade my set up!

Glad you saw it so quickly. See, I wasn't lying to you.

No. It'll go away when you get a new board. It's just using the bios because it's switched to the 3rd party AHCI controller. I really don't see the problem with the boots times.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:04 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Help me upgrade my set up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Glad you saw it so quickly. See, I wasn't lying to you.

No. It'll go away when you get a new board. It's just using the bios because it's switched to the 3rd party AHCI controller. I really don't see the problem with the boots times.
Well I didn't think you were lying, I figured it was something I was doing wrong

As for the boot times, I always want the most out of whatever I have. So when a benchmark says 12 seconds, I want 12 seconds. I'm thinking that won't happen on this motherboard.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:20 PM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Help me upgrade my set up!

Probably not. Benchmarks are using newer setups with SATA3 and boards with native AHCI support. The SATA 3 wont help too much in the boot up, but the loss of that extra bios screen will help. Be glad you only have one because I have 2 when I enable AHCI on my HDD controller.

Also, don't forget those SSD guides. Disabling certain things (services) cause speed up as well.

SSD Tweak Guide

If you need the pagefile offload it to a regular HDD. Even if it's a USB external or whatever.
Also in the services menu disable Microsoft Shadow Copy Provider and Volume Shadow Copy services. If you have it disable offline files as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:10 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Help me upgrade my set up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Probably not. Benchmarks are using newer setups with SATA3 and boards with native AHCI support. The SATA 3 wont help too much in the boot up, but the loss of that extra bios screen will help. Be glad you only have one because I have 2 when I enable AHCI on my HDD controller.

Also, don't forget those SSD guides. Disabling certain things (services) cause speed up as well.

SSD Tweak Guide

If you need the pagefile offload it to a regular HDD. Even if it's a USB external or whatever.
Also in the services menu disable Microsoft Shadow Copy Provider and Volume Shadow Copy services. If you have it disable offline files as well.
Thanks for the link! I followed the guide, now the boot time is down to 32 seconds! If the second BIOS was eliminated, it would be down into the 16 second range! I think I can live with the 32 seconds though.

I did offload the pagefile to my old faithful WD 80GB HDD (8 years old).
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:44 AM   #35 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Help me upgrade my set up!

Whatever works on the pagefile just as long as it isn't on the SSD. Naturally it would speed things up but it's unnecessary wear and tear on it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dri

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.