Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2015, 07:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Nothing will come up if you're getting any post code error.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 07:14 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Vinny Vite Vichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada eh?
Posts: 84
Default Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Nothing will come up if you're getting any post code error.

Thank you.

I'll replace the ram and see what happens.
Although, if it still happens. I understand it could be many things, but what would one of you guys do personally as a next step?
Thanks guys, update soon.
__________________

Vinny Vite Vichy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 07:37 PM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

As a next step? Well if I was broke I'd hop on Craigslist and hope like hell somebody doesn't want too much for their junk. If I had some money in the bank, get at least a G3258 and a cheap Asus H81.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:27 PM   #34 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Vinny Vite Vichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada eh?
Posts: 84
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
As a next step? Well if I was broke I'd hop on Craigslist and hope like hell somebody doesn't want too much for their junk. If I had some money in the bank, get at least a G3258 and a cheap Asus H81.

Alright sounds good.
I'll actually do both. See if there is a "parts comp" out there, I could possibly get a new case and then see what parts are good. And hopefully make a new comp.

Also, I'll scope out the retailer near me and see the prices on that stuff there. Isn't bad at all. $200 when its all done and I'll have a new motherboard and CPU.

I'll run a couple comps past you guys to see which is best compatibly with my stuff.
My biggest worry is my ram not being comparable with whichever motherboard I get. Vice versa with be CPU.
Is there a site, or just google and to see if it is?
Vinny Vite Vichy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:41 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

You ram is DDR3 and there are tons out there still using it
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Any AM3 or AM3+ board should do fine for you and your RAM. I'd try to stick to full ATX boards that are at least 970 series.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:44 PM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Vinny Vite Vichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada eh?
Posts: 84
Default Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
You ram is DDR3 and there are tons out there still using it


Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Any AM3 or AM3+ board should do fine for you and your RAM. I'd try to stick to full ATX boards that are at least 970 series.

Thank both you guys. Answered all my questions and so quick. Can't thank you guys enough.
I'm going to purchase a new motherboard first. Then I can test my ram and CPU off of it.
Either way, I wanted to upgrade everything, bit by bit anyway.


My PS is almost positively fine.
The dvd RW I never used so that should be fine.
The 1.5tb Hard Drive Should be fine.

The case im going to make last until I find something I like.

It comes down to the motherboard, CPU, and ram. Those are the three things I am unsure about, I will start with either the ram or motherboard for starters.

I'm hoping I can salvage the CPU for now, but get a motherboard that will allow me to upgrade it in the future.


Depending on which one I go for I will update you guys soon.

((EDIT))

Oh Jesus PP Mguire. Reading through your CPU and modern games thread and you are actually explaining all my questions about clocking and processors and such.

Thank you!!!!
Vinny Vite Vichy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:58 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

HEHE see PP people really DO read your CPU thread lol
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:02 PM   #39 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny Vite Vichy View Post
Thank both you guys. Answered all my questions and so quick. Can't thank you guys enough.
I'm going to purchase a new motherboard first. Then I can test my ram and CPU off of it.
Either way, I wanted to upgrade everything, bit by bit anyway.


My PS is almost positively fine.
The dvd RW I never used so that should be fine.
The 1.5tb Hard Drive Should be fine.

The case im going to make last until I find something I like.

It comes down to the motherboard, CPU, and ram. Those are the three things I am unsure about, I will start with either the ram or motherboard for starters.

I'm hoping I can salvage the CPU for now, but get a motherboard that will allow me to upgrade it in the future.


Depending on which one I go for I will update you guys soon.

((EDIT))

Oh Jesus PP Mguire. Reading through your CPU and modern games thread and you are actually explaining all my questions about clocking and processors and such.

Thank you!!!!
I hope you don't mean buy a new AMD motherboard, because that's almost pointless at this time unless you got a very cheap one that supports your CPU. THen you're taking a gamble at if the CPU actually works or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
HEHE see PP people really DO read your CPU thread lol
Lol I see that. Probably the first person I didn't need to link to view it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:14 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Vinny Vite Vichy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Canada eh?
Posts: 84
Default Re: Help me rebuild my Gaming Rig.

Reading through your CPU thread and mind BLOWN. I'm no where near done but just want to say what I've realized jn very simple terms is:

My amd CPU and ones like it were viewed by some as the monster for gaming WHEN i bought my computer back in 2011-2012. Funny how I wish I read that thread before I bought my comp.When really it wasn't as good as the Intel ones just made to sound better. I'm reading about clock speed and what it is exactly. And how you explain it is perfect for guys like me. Thank you.

Bottom line. Spend the $200, get a new motherboard and CPU.
Use my PS, hard drive, DVD RW, case, and possibly ram to start.
Then shortly after get a decent graphics card. Like a week or two. After I put it all together.
__________________

Vinny Vite Vichy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build/rebuild! Avioz System Upgrades 1 10-07-2010 12:45 AM
rebuilding current rig - server/gaming rig.. help? anime_dude07 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-30-2009 11:12 AM
Upgrading my audio production rig.. rebuild! jaykai New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-04-2007 05:52 PM
help problems after rebuild. blkchevyz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 07-21-2004 02:47 PM
rebuild w/ P4 now, or wait for 64 bit? regeisle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-30-2003 11:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.