Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2012, 12:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

bro, if you are swapping out the motherboard... you might as well pick out the parts out individually yourself.
just ask Taylor if he regrets buying a cyberpower unit.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdhigh View Post
Why would you suggest the 2nd one? and what is the diffrence from 6850 and a 6850 IceQx ? and do u suggest to get GIGABYTE GA-990XA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard to replace it? O:
I would go with the second one because it has more ram, a better video card and it's cheaper.

The 6850 IceQx has a better heatsink.

Why buy a pre-built computer if your going to replace the motherboard, just build your own computer from the get go and save some cash with a better system.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Default Just need a lil help

Newegg.com - CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2112 Desktop PC AMD FX-Series FX-4100(3.6GHz) 4GB DDR3 1TB HDD Capacity AMD Radeon HD 6450 1GB Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit could the motherboard and watt supply Newegg.com - HIS IceQ X Turbo H695QNT2G2M Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity because i dont understand "500 Watt or greater power supply with two 750W 6-pin PCI Express power connectos recommended" thanks
superdhigh is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Just need a lil help

What exactly are you asking? If the mobo/PSU support the 6950? Well, the mobo does, but not in Crossfirex, before you ask, since I believe you've had more than one thread regarding this desktop. Which is against the Forum rules. And, the 6950 requires a 500w PSU minimum. So you won't have much headroom. And I can't seem to find out what model that PSU is, for the price of the desktop, I'm going to assume it's a cheap no name, and it may not even have the connectors required for the card.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

@ superdhigh, one Thread per Topic.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

SO would u advise me to get another power supply for the desktop? if so can you give me a link please?
superdhigh is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

As said above, if you are buying that pre-made system, changing out the board, gfx, and PSU, you are way better of buying the parts separately and building it yourself.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

but if i do that isnt that like more work plus i have to buy all the programs for the computer? o: and ill just keep the board just new card and PSU
superdhigh is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:44 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

Building a computer isn't work. It's an experience. You get great pleasure out of building it yourself, and beat the hell out of that pre-made crap.

You'll need new drivers for the new card as well. So its not really connect it and go.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 30
Default Re: Help me with my fisrt build and if it would work

what parts would you suggest i use if im going to build a computer from the ground to around 600-700$ AMD build <3 :]
__________________

superdhigh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this build work? Hewlitt System Upgrades 3 10-17-2011 04:30 PM
Will this Build Work? yoshi1476 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2008 10:16 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
Fisrt time overclocking,Please help caliman Overclocking and Modding 9 11-03-2007 07:14 PM
will this build work sailpog System Upgrades 22 06-04-2006 09:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.