Help me lower my total spending on these items please... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2008, 12:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Help me lower my total spending on these items please...

You can OC the Q6600 to like 3.0GHz, and that's good enough for almost anything that doesn't use 4 cores.
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 12:17 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help me lower my total spending on these items please...

Its still a good CPU, I would not refund it..

If still had not bought it though, I would have recommended a e8400..

But bad batches recently have degraded their OC'ing ability, but you said you bought this a while ago right? Then, you might be able to go 3.0ghz
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: Help me lower my total spending on these items please...

ok, so when you guys say OC...I think OxyContin/oxycodone/drugs lol. I have no idea how to OC a computer. Is it simple? Are there risks involved?
Nahledge is offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:28 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Help me lower my total spending on these items please...

OC = Over clocking = setting your fsb and voltage up a bit to increase the the speed of the processor's mhz/ghz.

Its simple if you just do the basics which will typically get you pretty far. Theres risk involved but really only if you start going crazy trying to get every mhz you can and use crazy high voltage.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Items Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-08-2008 05:17 PM
Determining bandwidth...? Trotter Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 05-01-2008 04:08 PM
Homework HELP PLZ!!! Due soon. :) AuThoRitY Programming 1 10-03-2007 08:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.