Help me fix my future rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2006, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 65
Default Help me fix my future rig

For all intents and purposes let's pretend I know nothing about computers, or how to build one. And that I have no supplies for building a rig except for a static band, and some case/expansion screws and screwdrivers.

It's a gaming rig.









I don't plan on overclocking anything this time. I think a Conroe plus 7900 will destroy WoW at high settings. I also already have a 200GB WD with a 16MB cache, a 127GB Max with a 8MB cache that are somewhat old, but chkdsk hasn't noticed any bad sectors as of yet so I figure I Can keep em going with a fresh full format.

Also... this PC currently as a Radeon X700 Pro 256MB in it, but I think I may have burned it, OCing it for well over a year. A couple problems.

One includes When im playing WoW in windowed mode, if a popup comes up(like windows update telling me updates need to be installed, or if I mouse over something on the taskbar and a pop-up info panel comes up)... The entire system lags up. WoW will drop to >15FPS, and the rest of the PC is also lagging this way, when the pop-up dissapears things go back to normal.

The major problem right now is that my limit is >$1000. Im thinking about possibly building the new system without a new video card. Swapping in me X700 for right this second, then grabbing a late 7 series geforce after the prices go down(or possibly if a gt/gtx is on sale at black friday).

Another note, this current rig will be outfitted with a cheap HDD and be turned into a server 2K3 box to play around with for my MCSA/MCSE class.

Current rig details:

Athlon 64 2800+ OCed to 2.2Ghz, 1.5MB corsair XMS pc3200 RAM OCed a bit, The HDD's and VCard i noted above. has a DVD/RW but I need to stick a floppy in it. Has ample cooling and airflow, BIOS usually shows a 35-45 degree CPU temp. I think with a cheap 7200RPM <100GB HDD i should be fine. And I should be okay with onbourd video(DFi Lanparty UT 300GB mobo) to run server 2K3 with the sole purpose of running labs, studying, etc.

So im thinking about ditching the vcard in the newegg links above, springing for some xms2 800 RAM. With shipping I think that may hit me around a grand. Then pickup a sweet 7/8 series around black friday/post-xmas sales.

P.S. How is the onboard sound on the PB5-E? Im a bit of an audiophile. I cant tell the difference between 320kbs mp3's, and files that were jusr SAMPLED for 320kbs, but I have a 150Watt 2.1 pc sound system that I don't want to be cracky or crappy at high volumes. Also how is the onbourd nic? The onboard networking in thie dfi board has alot of problems I Swear. Should I spring for a nice $50 NIC, or just ay **** it and reserve that for the 2K3 test box.

***EDIT*** bleh, forgot to add. any advise on how to reduce cost while keeping high performance? or am i already in the grey area. Also, is there anything im missing. as far as I can tell ive got a good setup, with all parts able to run together. Am I missing an accessories that I just keep skipping over?

Zilveari is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
Poizen22's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,277

ur build is perfect great choice of case by the way i have a thermaltake it its great im looking at changing case tho for beter wire management as its hard to keep things orginized in a medeum tower and iwas looking at the armor for my next case

intel Core I7 4770k@ 4.0ghz-Nvidia GTX980-MSI Z87G45 mobo-8gb ddr3 Corsair Vengeance Blue-ADATA SX900 128gb ssd 2x in raid 0 500gb hdd and 1tb network drive- EVGA 750w bronze-NZXT RAZER H440 LE-55 inch samsung 8000 series LEd-BENQ XL2411Z-Logitech z906 THX 5.1, Microsoft sculpt KB Razer NAGA 2014
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180

I ordered the Armor for my first case. I also ordered the exact same motherboard and CPU as you did. It should all work together pretty well. Only problems you might run into is if your hard drives are IDE or not. If they are you will probably need to get a SATA drive as the mobo you chose only has one IDE connection.
toxicity_27 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.