Help me find a new PSU please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2013, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Help me find a new PSU please!

The times have changed and I don't remember any of this junk I used to dabble in so hard (been playing too many games and not reading up on hardware)

Farcry 3 and Metro 2033 and then BOOM. No power.

PSU is DEAD! Tried paperclip test to see if it was something else but it didn't work! (even tried multiple black cables thinking maybe I didn't read the chart right the first time)

So my TX 750W Corsair PSU is dead in under 4 years with it's "5 year warranty" listed on the box - the only problem is Corsair is NOT REPLYING TO ME. I have sent requests and mail and even called them and got no details back. Just generic "what's the problem, have you tried this, I don't know what else to try" messages. I flat out told them "I need a new unit, RMA this thing back, it's not working and the BOX that I still have from oP says 5 years on it, it was 2009 when I bought it, 5 years makes it 2014, it only made it to 2013 at the most."

They have yet to reply again. So while I wait. ... let's do some shopping boys!

Let's find me another PSU that will work in my HAF 932 case. Although I plan to upgrade sometime this year or next (Everything, cuz to upgrade GPU I gotta get a new MOBO) so let's make sure the Wattage is a bit "future proof".

I want reliable over gimmick! Saving $20 now isn't worth dying 1 year sooner.
__________________

__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

Interesting. I have never had any problems getting anything done with Corsair.

You would be fine with sticking to 750w. You could get a Seasonic, which is practically the same thing different company. Seasonic make some of the best units in the world so no harm going there (even though, Seasonic OEM the TX series).

Newegg.com - Seasonic SS-760XP ATX 12V/EPS 12V, 760W, 80 plus PLATINUM certified PFC Power Supply –
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

You wouldn't have to upgrade the mobo to get a new GPU really, that should be fine if you didn't feel the need to upgrade the CPU. The main downside to your mobo is the RAM cap @ 12gb, but I guess that depends on if 6gb has been working out for you.

What GPU do you think you are planning on getting?

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You could get a Seagate
I'd be so weirded out is Seagate started making PSUs rofl.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
You wouldn't have to upgrade the mobo to get a new GPU really, that should be fine if you didn't feel the need to upgrade the CPU. The main downside to your mobo is the RAM cap @ 12gb, but I guess that depends on if 6gb has been working out for you.

What GPU do you think you are planning on getting?

EDIT:



I'd be so weirded out is Seagate started making PSUs rofl.
Good catch. Funny thing, I put Seagate, then in the next sentence Seasonic. I was looking at 3TB drives when I posted that. Brains work weird.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

that is crazy talk, i have RMAd so many things from corsair! where do you live? if you live on the west coast call and ask for harold. er better yet, here is his email address:

haroldn@corsair.com

he is the corsair RMA rep, he is in charge of all RMAs for corsair. send an email to that address, and it will get squared away, no doubts in my mind!
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

I have talked to him before. Good guy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Help me find a new PSU please!

agreed. he RMAd a side panel to my 600T before i even had the case!
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.