Help me choose a video card - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 03:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cali
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to norcrawler Send a message via MSN to norcrawler
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Quote:
Originally Posted by splashdown View Post
I was hoping to keep the price below $100. But I want to play this game my mom bought me for my birthday. I think it's called Crysis, lemme go check.

EDIT: Yeah, it's Crysis. So I should get an ATI video card then? Why? List some pros and cons please.
lol those words shouldnt even mix.
__________________

norcrawler is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:03 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

You don't overclock games you overclock the video card. Overclocking depends on the cards themselves but IIRC a 8800gs and 9600gso do overclock well. Crysis looked great on my stock 8800gt so even though you won't max it, you can still play it.

And what are the other parts in your computer???
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
You don't overclock games you overclock the video card. Overclocking depends on the cards themselves but IIRC a 8800gs and 9600gso do overclock well. Crysis looked great on my stock 8800gt so even though you won't max it, you can still play it.

And what are the other parts in your computer???
I have a Dell 20" LCD monitor and a logitech MX1100 mouse and keyboard set.
splashdown is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:34 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Well to save you the trouble of opening up your case you can get this graphics stick splashdown.
Welcome to Visiontek: Unbelievably Real Graphics
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:35 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cali
Posts: 111
Send a message via AIM to norcrawler Send a message via MSN to norcrawler
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

wtf!?

lol is that for real?
lol
norcrawler is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:36 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Ok. But I mean whats in the computer like what cpu, how much ram, also what version of Windows do you have? If you don't know go to Control panel and find system, it will tell you in there.
Or if its a prebuilt from a big company whats the model?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
Ok. But I mean whats in the computer like what cpu, how much ram, also what version of Windows do you have? If you don't know go to Control panel and find system, it will tell you in there.
Or if its a prebuilt from a big company whats the model?
I believe it's a 1.83Ghz Core Duo 2 processor with 2GB of RAM. I'm not sure what you mean by what version of windows I have... but this is what my computer looks like:

splashdown is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 03:54 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

ya that usb card i posted will work great with it. That directx12.1 will blow you away along with that 125x AA.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:02 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
Well to save you the trouble of opening up your case you can get this graphics stick splashdown.
Welcome to Visiontek: Unbelievably Real Graphics
haha that's funny.
and that pc looks kindve like a mac mini. if it is then you cant put any video card in it. i think they have to be mac compatible or something like that. i know there is a 8800gt for mac
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 04:12 PM   #30 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Help me choose a video card

If that is a mac mini you cant upgrade the video card. Even if you could you would have to install Windows to run Crysis since it's not compatible with OSX
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build: Need help selecting PSU, video card, and sound card ItalianBoy228 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2008 07:13 PM
BFME2 Video Card Japes PC Gaming 5 03-03-2008 05:46 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.