Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2007, 05:14 PM   #101 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

What you can do, is RAID 0 two hard drives, and have another hard drive for backup.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:22 PM   #102 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
What you can do, is RAID 0 two hard drives, and have another hard drive for backup.
thats what I do...except I use the 3rd hard drive not for backup but just for more space. People always talk about how RAID 0 is risky because if you lose 1 HD you lose all your data...but honestly I've never had a drive fail on me in my entire life.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:24 PM   #103 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

i was thinking about doin raid a few times, but i spent my money else where, not because i thought it was risky, but because it isnt as important. i would if i had some money right now, even though ive had 2 hdds fail in 3 years. 1 dell, and one seagate barracuda, but this western digital that it replaced works perfectly fine.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:27 PM   #104 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

Yea...RAID 0 isn't necessary, but just the luxury of having more space and faster loading times. If you have the extra money, it's nice to have.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:33 PM   #105 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
thats what I do...except I use the 3rd hard drive not for backup but just for more space. People always talk about how RAID 0 is risky because if you lose 1 HD you lose all your data...but honestly I've never had a drive fail on me in my entire life.
thats true...

however once i had one of my disks become corrupt and windows wouldn't boot and was sol anyway. or if your array messes up im not sure you could fix that, if im not mistaken that is..

and if you wanted you could do a raid 0+1 that requires 4 disks, which is two disks in raid 0 for performance and then the other two in raid 0 that mirror the first set.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:40 PM   #106 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
and if you wanted you could do a raid 0+1 that requires 4 disks, which is two disks in raid 0 for performance and then the other two in raid 0 that mirror the first set.
talk about expensive!!
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:43 PM   #107 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

Mostly businesses do it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:44 PM   #108 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

yeah just thought i'd throw it out there though.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 06:44 PM   #109 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

im sry but im lost, what u mean by RAID 0 or 1? Does this make 2 HDDs work together which makes them boot data faster? Seem better n cheaper then a 10k RPM Raptor.

i would like to get a Seagate 250GB SATA HDD in the oh so near future n do "RAID 0" to it n to my Maxtor 80GB ATA/133 HDD.

sry if i sound stupid, im not, im a really intelligent guy who just loves technology lol X-D.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:00 PM   #110 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help Me Build A New Computer!! Money No Option

RAID 0 is stripping, and it combines 2 hard drives of the same size, to be recognizable as one. It boost performance, because the info is being written and read, from two hard drives at once, instead of one hard drive. Downside is, if one fails, the data on the other hard drive is lost.

RAID 1 is known as mirroring, two hard drives. Or cloning in simple words. This is for security, so if one goes down, you have the other.

You can't RAID 0 your future 250GB HD to your 80GB, because they have to be the same size.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Looking to build gaming computer need help goldenboy3413 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 06:49 AM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
Slight annoyance with xgl Skuzzle Linux and Open Source 10 04-08-2007 10:04 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.