Help me! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default Help me!

I need to admit now that I am a bit of a noob, so please explain everything in morons terms for me.

Basiclly I have a fairly dated system (P4 2.4 ghz, 1 gig of RAM, Geforce 6200, Maxtor 80 gig) and desperatly need to upgrade. I'm sure you get this all the time, but where the **** do I start? I mean, from all sides I get people giving me 'Crossfire' this and 'Dual Core' that and I really have no idea what I want or need. I have been told that I need to wait until Vista comes out and brings with it a new wave of techonology, etc, but with the rumour mill at full spin over when they will actually get their act together and finish it, it could be any time.

When I first started considering an upgrade, I was thinking along the lines of getting a good quality power supply, a new PCI-Express motherboard and a nice graphics card. I intended (in the short-term at least) to carry over my RAM and drives. I mentioned this plan to a number of people just over a month ago and I got shot down in flames with claims of 'That's nowhere near good enough', etc. Some people even said I should be waiting until 2007!

I am massively confused and incoherent, please help me if you can! Should I shell out now or wait for this omnipresent 'new technology'?
__________________

c_dfeedback is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k heres the things you need to tell us.

1) what are you using the computer for
2) what is ur budget

then we can help you.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
k heres the things you need to tell us.

1) what are you using the computer for
2) what is ur budget

then we can help you.
Ok, well I am generally intending my PC for gaming, and I hadn't really considered a budget, since I am only intending to replace a few parts......straight off the bat i'd say £300. The only issue is that I am unemployed, and as such cannot afford that kind of expenditure in one go, which is why it would be excellent if there was motherboard with an AGP slot as well as a PCI Express so that I could use my 6200 until I could afford a new card. Wishful thinking, I suspect.
c_dfeedback is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Well if your getting a socket 939 cpu then this board has an agp and pci-e slot.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
Well if your getting a socket 939 cpu then this board has an agp and pci-e slot.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
Sorry to be so ignorant, but what are the advantages and disadvantages of socket 939 compared to 754 or whatever the other is?

Some people have told me I should get 939, others 754. I am still unsure as to what the difference is.

Also, would having the two different slots affect performance in the long-term? Should I think about getting a fully PCI-Express board?
c_dfeedback is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 05:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Your first priority is to get a job.

The problem is, you are sacrifising using older components with your modern PC, so you are wasting money on a board like above.

You can salvage the ram and the hdd if you want. It would be best to check the speed of the ram with CPU-Z.

A AMD 64 3000 will be £100 straight off. You can get motherbopards for £50 that have a intergrated 6100 until you can afford money on a decent gaming card.

For £60 you can get a Hiper type R 580w PSU, that is good, but not for your budget. I would reccomend a Antec Piano case that comes with a 450w smartpower PSU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 06:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Your first priority is to get a job.

The problem is, you are sacrifising using older components with your modern PC, so you are wasting money on a board like above.

You can salvage the ram and the hdd if you want. It would be best to check the speed of the ram with CPU-Z.

A AMD 64 3000 will be £100 straight off. You can get motherbopards for £50 that have a intergrated 6100 until you can afford money on a decent gaming card.

For £60 you can get a Hiper type R 580w PSU, that is good, but not for your budget. I would reccomend a Antec Piano case that comes with a 450w smartpower PSU.
I am working on the job thing.

But you are very much verifiying my fears there. I am concerned that if I spend money I really can't afford to spend now, I still won't get the full out of my new system if I drag over the old components. I've got a gig of decent RAM that I am happy to bring over, and my hard drive and DVD, but the graphics card is going be a problem. I want an ATI this time, but I am looking at serious bucks for a decent card (I would think), bucks I simply don't have. It used to be so simple.......

The processor and mobo prices you suggest seem reasonable. I will have a quick look on Ebuyer and Overclockers and see if I can get good prices.
c_dfeedback is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 07:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
......straight off the bat i'd say £300. The only issue is that I am unemployed, and as such cannot afford that kind of expenditure in one go
so you don't even have 300 pounds to spend? how much are you really planning on spending?


the 2 options you could go is, as someone already suggested, get a mobo with integrated video, use that for a while till you make enough money for a good video card.

the other option would be that as rock mobo with both agp and pci-express.. you lose maybe 5% in performance over a native pci-express mobo. use your 6200 for a while till you get enough money for a better card...

if you don't think you're gonna get a job anytime soon then i don't really see the point in upgrading now.. maybe just wait a bit..

btw what type of ram exactly do you have? run cpu-z or something and tell us...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 07:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
so you don't even have 300 pounds to spend? how much are you really planning on spending?


the 2 options you could go is, as someone already suggested, get a mobo with integrated video, use that for a while till you make enough money for a good video card.

the other option would be that as rock mobo with both agp and pci-express.. you lose maybe 5% in performance over a native pci-express mobo. use your 6200 for a while till you get enough money for a better card...

if you don't think you're gonna get a job anytime soon then i don't really see the point in upgrading now.. maybe just wait a bit..

btw what type of ram exactly do you have? run cpu-z or something and tell us...
I have checked out that mobo with the PCI Express and the AGP, and I think that's what I need I was also going to get a AMD (Venice) Athlon 64Bit 3000 to accompany it. With that and a power supply, I should be set. Then when I get the money i'll pick up a graphics card.

Does that seem alright to you?
c_dfeedback is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 07:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default



Also, this is a screen dump of my RAM specs. Is that good or bad? When I got it, it was just above average.
__________________

c_dfeedback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.