Help me with a $600 build! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 10:16 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
yeah the socket on the mobo and cpu have to match so you are right proto.

Id say get the board proto recommended but id say get an e8400 and upgrade in the future later on.

Would this be a better choice?

Keep in mind I don't have any plans to overclock, perhaps in the future...

Oh also;

WinXP or Vista?

2gb or 4gb of RAM?

I'm very close to my budget as it is, so I don't know if I should go with 2GB to start with then upgrade soon, or not waste my money and just go straight to 4gb.
__________________

Weavesy is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weavesy View Post
Would this be a better choice?

Keep in mind I don't have any plans to overclock, perhaps in the future...

Oh also;

WinXP or Vista?

2gb or 4gb of RAM?

I'm very close to my budget as it is, so I don't know if I should go with 2GB to start with then upgrade soon, or not waste my money and just go straight to 4gb.
show me what you have right now and what ur missing
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:19 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

if your not ocing and are going to upgrade the cpu in a year or so then the e8400 would be a better choice because it will perform better then a q6600 at stock right seeing as no games utilize all 4 cores.

since your not ocing you can get the a-data ram...i have hear a few good things about it...well it is better then buffalo and Kingston IMO.

so other then that everything looks good....it should be a great little budget build =D
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:31 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
if your not ocing and are going to upgrade the cpu in a year or so then the e8400 would be a better choice because it will perform better then a q6600 at stock right seeing as no games utilize all 4 cores.

since your not ocing you can get the a-data ram...i have hear a few good things about it...well it is better then buffalo and Kingston IMO.

so other then that everything looks good....it should be a great little budget build =D
Alright, thanks a lot for the help!

And thank you to Proto and everyone else who helped.

One last question: Looking at my parts (specifically mobo and vid card) do I need a full tower? I like my options and prices for the mid-towers and would prefer to buy a mid IF I can fit my parts in one.

Any comments here?

Oh and no one has commented on the WinXP VS Vista problem I'm having
Weavesy is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

those parts will all fit in a standard mid tower case...well i can't guarantee it but it is very unlikely that they wouldn't.

Since your getting 4gb of ram then you need a 64bit os...id say just get vista home premium 64bit..ultimate is a waste.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:47 AM   #27 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Yah. The RAM depends on if you are going to have a 32 or 64 bit OS. If you plan on just using regular 32 bit Windows XP, then the 4GB is a waste, and Windows will only recognize 3 of it. Up to you.
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 06:58 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

I thought you said you just had $600.. how tf did you manage a q6600 in there
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 08:12 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I thought you said you just had $600.. how tech forums did you manage a q6600 in there
Im going with the E8400 not the Q6600, and I'm currently at $645 minus the case, but whatever.

Weavesy is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 08:16 AM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Help me with a $600 build!

Oh and is my 550W PSU still going to be alright?
__________________

Weavesy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prebuilt parts vs build your own parts encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-28-2008 03:33 PM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
Build the best possible computer using only $600? Iron Angel New Systems | Building and Buying 20 12-15-2007 04:28 PM
Opinions on new $600 build macdawg System Upgrades 6 10-25-2007 08:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.