HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2009, 05:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Question HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Hi everyone!

Great to be part of this!

Quick question: i've just received my new PC and I wanted to add a few bits from my old PC to it but having problems.

I want to add:
  1. my old HD
  2. my not-so-old DVD drive


I'm not very techy so excuse my French.

Basically the cables that connect the HDs and DVD drives to the motherboard in my new PC are completely different from the ones I knew previously. they're slimmer and sleeker.

My old drives connect via those flat cables and white-tipped power cables. The motherboard has only 1 connector for these older versions of cables.

The question is: is it possible to keep the modern drives that came with the computer as Master/Slave in themselves PLUS making another Master/Slave connection for the old drives? Will there be any conflicting?

It's gotta be done this way because the plugs aren't compatible, so I couldn't, e.g., make the new HD master of the old HD slave. I have to create 2 "couples" = New master HD / New slave DVD and then Old master HD / Old master DVD.

Is this at all possible?
__________________

rafaelr is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Quote:
are completely different from the ones I knew previously. they're slimmer and sleeker.
I think you're referring to SATA cables, am I correct? Very similar to this:

SATA devices do not require master/slave settings, only the older ones which you seem to be familiar with (IDE), which have much bulkier cables.

Could you post your system specs?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 07:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Yes it is.

The old wide flat cable is called ide. With newer motherboards you generally have one ide connection which allows 2 devices. You would hook up your old cd and hd to this with a single old school cable. You can either set the one at the end as master and the one in the middle as slave or set them both as cable select.

The new smaller cable is called sata. There are no master slave jumpers on new sata drives. You only connect one drive per cable. You can run both sata and ide with no problems. If for some reason when you connect the old drives your computer tried to boot from them you just need to set the boot order correctly in bios.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

I thought i would just add that those white tip power connectors are called molex connectors. SATA drives have replaced their power system with SATA power which is similar to the SATA data cable except it is slightly longer.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
I thought i would just add that those white tip power connectors are called molex connectors. SATA drives have replaced their power system with SATA power which is similar to the SATA data cable except it is slightly longer.
Picture for OP's reference, SATA power cable.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I think you're referring to SATA cables, am I correct? Very similar to this:

SATA devices do not require master/slave settings, only the older ones which you seem to be familiar with (IDE), which have much bulkier cables.

Could you post your system specs?
Hi everyone, thanks for the replies!

Yes, that is the one, so they're all SATA. It also makes sense b/c I couldn't see any jump pins on them...

can't post the system specs @ the mo as i'm @ work but could do when I get home.... but I think this is pretty much solved! thanks a lot for your help!!!! :laughing:
rafaelr is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 05:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: HELP! Masters, Slaves, HDs and DVDs

Some SATA drives might have a jumper to set it between SATA 1.5Gb/s and SATA 3Gb/s, but there's no master/slave on SATA drives. There's only one device per cable.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.