Help gauging a new PC build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2011, 05:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Help gauging a new PC build

Hey guys, it's been awhile and I've been out of the loop since I've been deployed...but I'm coming back



I just watched the Battlefield 3 video and it looks great, I was wondering how much money I'd have to put into a PC to run it on high? Any parts certain parts to keep in mind? I've been hearing about the Ivy Bridge and Sandy Bridge and I'm pretty lost :P


Thanks
__________________

SuxoR is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Help gauging a new PC build

My PC (specs below) will be able to run it on High. I have a Sandy Bridge CPU, overclocked.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Help gauging a new PC build

From what I've read you should be able to play at the high settings with a $1000 PC +/- a couple hundred.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-02-2011, 03:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: Help gauging a new PC build

Awesome thanks for the replies :]

I was thinking about a 1000 dollar build thanks again!
SuxoR is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Raccoon City
Posts: 123
Default

I paid $567 for my pc and I had the BF3 ALPHA and i was able to play it on Max settings with 40-60 fps. It's an alpha too so it will get better optimization. I have a phenom II x4 965 NOT overclocked with 8 gigs of gskill sniper 1333 and a sapphire hd 6670. In my experience the multiplayer part of the game usually lags more than singleplayer.
__________________
AMD FX 8350 | 8gigs DDR3 1333 G.skill sniper

IN WIN GRone Full Tower| GIGABYTE 970A-D3P MoBo

EVGA GTX 760 SC| CORSAIR TX Series 650w PSU|

COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO|

Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200rpm HDD|

128GB Vertex4 SSD
cp0020 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP ON NEW BUILD! Sandy Bridge i7-2600k FIRST BUILD EVER!! Tips are highly appreciated! bvuong New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-12-2011 07:09 PM
Need a build for a friend from the build guru's myowngod New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-29-2009 06:46 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.