Help finding the right motherboard and CPU - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 08:12 PM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

If you want a SLI mobo then I guess yea get the 680i. I still say that SLI almost always isn't worth it. Just extra heat, and more watts. Still I guess a good way to go with it is just get the 680i (which I hate) an 8800GTX and some G.Skill DDR2-800 memory.

Add another card on later as you should be smoking. Just look for a 600w PSU as even on SLI 600w's is plenty.


EDIT: Also I was not reccomending the 6700 becuase of overclocking. The extra multiplier is not worth 200+ bucks more is all. It is true though that the E6600 actually overclocks better stock since the higher multiplier limits your FSB.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:20 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Its ok just don't want to pay to much for a CPU.

Well come to think of it if ya have to buy another video card it would be a little to expensive so I think one card is fine for one or two monitors. I didn't know that the SLI makes more heat two I would not go with that don't want a computer that heats pretty quick.

What motherboard ya suggest without the SLI chipset?
__________________

tooie32 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Without?

This is my personal favorite as it's great and doesn't cost much.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131070

But if you want to spend more (you don't HAVE to spend more) then you can get a 975 chipset.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813121016

Those may have more than one PCI-E but I believe they do not support SLI.

Also I think you knew as something was mentioned but with SLI you cannot run Dual monitors yet.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:36 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

ah ok

without what I mean is that dosn't have the SLI in the motherboard.

Nice boards I'll pic one which I like best and I'll get that.


Carl

Edit:

I'll go for the ASUS P5B-E beings I like ASUS's boards ASUS never failed me on motherboards.
tooie32 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:03 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Know I got the motherboard know what memory do ya guys suggest the max memory I am planning to get is 4GBs
tooie32 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Are you going to be doing very memory draining things than the average person? Such as video editing and graphical design? Becuase 4 gigs these days is still overkill for almost everyone.

2GB is still plenty for most people's needs and gamers.

The memory I like to recommend the most right now though are these.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231084

I have 2 sticks of the exact same stuff in my putter and it is AMAZING for the price, just shockingly good for that cheap.

Actually all G.Skill memory is.

And if you feel like going on the pricey side of things with memory then this stuff is ridiculous as well.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231065

Pricey though and you really won't "need" it but the HZ's are still kickass.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

lol I use a program called 3d Studio Max I happen to make interiors somtimes are high on the memory mostly rendering it.

I'll get the cheaper one plus I like the green heatsink color.

I have already found a nice video card that will fit the PCI E.

XFX GeForce 8800 GTS 6400MB GDDR3
__________________

tooie32 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.