HELP with computer rig please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2011, 01:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default HELP with computer rig please!

Hey Guys just wondering if this computer rig all fits and if there are any tweaks that can improve performance or price.



Asus SABERTOOTH-X58 Intel Mainboard - 6x DDR3 / 8x Sata / USB3.0 / Gigabit Lan / LGA 1366

Intel CPU Intel Core i7-960 / 3.20GHz / 8MB Cache / LGA1366

Gigabyte nVidia GTX560 1GB OC, DVI X2, Mini HDMI Graphics Card. !!!!!!!!!!!2 IN SLI!!!!!!!

Antec LanBoy Air Blue Modular Case (No PSU)

Lite-On SATA Blu-Ray & DVD/CD Writer (12x Blu-Ray Write/ 20x DVDRW/ 48x CDRW) - Black


Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold M1000 1000W ATX Power Supply


Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA3/2


If you can reply ASAP that would be great. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Jimmyb is offline  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suzhou, Jiangsu Province, China
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to thesilversavers
Default Re: HELP with computer rig please!

Hi,

If you are opting for a quad core CPU, I would recommend buying a sandy bridge build instead. I have a 2600K CPU and it overclocks easily to 4.8GHz with about 50C temps when on load. The 2600K is for about 20 bucks more than the 960 but it has unlocked multiplier, which allows you to overclock easily.

But then again, what is your budget?

Also, for your GPU, I would recommend going for something like a 590 or a 580 single card. SLI may be quite problematic at times and temps are a problem. Besides, check out the GTX580 by EVGA, it theoretically beats 2X GTX 560.

As for your PSU, I don't think you would need a 1000W power supply for for current build, even for an SLI build. I'm running a 2600K system with a HD6990 on a 750W power supply.
__________________

thesilversavers is offline  
Old 04-07-2011, 07:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HELP with computer rig please!

Agreed with everything above. One card = less heat than 2 cards. Also some games have problems with multiple gpu's...like Shift 2 (http://twitter.com/NVIDIAGeForce/sta...82018240495616)
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 04-07-2011, 07:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HELP with computer rig please!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesilversavers View Post
I have a 2600K CPU and it overclocks easily to 4.8GHz with about 50C temps when on load.
That's not "average" and it's totally impossible with air-cooling.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: HELP with computer rig please!

Okay. If i was to run this build with the 2600k cpu and gtx 580, ill need a new motherboard yeah?

Also, will this rig be able to handle 3d Vision on Battlefield 3 and other games coming out soon?

I'd like to order it tonight so i'd greatly appreciate some one to help ASAP!
Jimmyb is offline  
Old 04-08-2011, 07:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HELP with computer rig please!

For 3d, the GTX 580 will do fine, but you also need a 3d ready monitor as well as those glasses...
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Computer Hardware And Workstations In A Computer Network Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-04-2009 08:10 AM
Really crazy computer problem - computer thinks I have no Network or Graphics Cards Renih Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-27-2006 01:59 PM
whats good computer requirments for the overall computer if i want to play sims 2? bbyrach622 PC Gaming 10 06-08-2005 08:20 AM
What is the easiest way to transfer email address from computer to computer? ingeborgdot Microsoft Windows and Software 10 02-03-2005 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.