Help choosing internet security program!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Help choosing internet security program!!!

ok....ive used norton the past two years and it has worked flawlessely, but my dad seems to think its not working for him, probably has something setup wrong, but for whatever the reason we are looking at renewing the norton subscription or getting this program-
http://www.pcsecurityshield.com/fswe...ity%20software
I did notice had a root-kit detection program, which is pretty handy.

anyone use it or know anything about it? supposedely it was rated the highest and had one more star then norton did. so just let me know on which would be better to use. O and also, there will be a firewall and wireless hub connected. thanks in advance- hunter
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

F-secure are normally alright but I wouldnt buy it Id go with any of the following:

NOD32
Kaspersky
panda security suite
Trend Micro
zonealarm security suite
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

I use the ZoneAlram Suite myself and I have no problems/issues.

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/conten...=en&lid=nav_ss
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

ok thank you for the quick replies but, i really need a comparison between the two i mentioned, as those are the only two im willing to buy, so should i stay with norton as i know it works or should i try security shield? and you mentioned something about F-secure.....what is that?
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Then go with F-secure Im not sure how the latest Nortons are but iv used a few and hated them all.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Kaspersky Internet Security 6

However, I myself Use
Updated Firefox
Updated Windows
Linksys Router
Symantec 10 Corporate AV
SpywareBlaster
Ad Aware SE Personnel
Spybot Search and Destroy
Random Scans with Hijackthis

I dont have any problems and I limewire and torrent like I biotch.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

ok well ill go with security shield then....thanks guys....eh and if i ahve any problems then ill just go back to norton.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

why just those 2? theres plenty of alternatives.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 05:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

actually a suite doesn't cover anything on my internet pc i have avg anti-virus, Webroot spysweeper, Icesword, That IE sandbox, Antiphishing, AVG firewall, yeah i know theres a lot of suites but nothing covers you copletely, so you will still need to buy all other programs anyway
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 05:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

You know what you could do? Just not have any of those. Just use firefox with the noscript extension, and avg free anti virus, and ad-aware/spybot. All free services. I haven't had a virus in years. The safest thing you can do anyway is to backup your files regularly if you're that scared.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.