Help choose Hardware for High-End PC. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default Help choose Hardware for High-End PC.

I've run into some money recently, and i'm planning on buying a new PC. I've got 5500$AUD (4,305.04 USD) to spend and the stuff i've chosen is costing me 4750$AUD. Also i'm not sure if the parts like the PSU and the graphics would work together any help would be appreciated.



Core 2 Duo E6700 $759.00
POV 8800GTX D2H $930.00
4X 1GB G.Skill DDRII-800 (PC2-6400) 5-5-5-15 Dual Channel ($370.00X2) $740.00
Antec 900 Case $198.00
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W $305.00
ASUS P5N32-E SLI $355.00

Seagate ST3750640NS
NL35, 3.5", 750GB, 7200RPM, 16MB, SATA2 3.0Gb/s, NCQ $704.00
20" LCD : SyncMasterTM Black $451.00
Logitech Laser Mouse G5 $87.00
Logitech Media Keyboard Elite $36.00
Hardware Installation & Testing (Full System HW) FROM $30-$60 $60.00
Logitech X-530 $90.00
Liteon SHM-165H6S(BLK) $72.00
Asus DRW-1608P3S(BLK) $55.00
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

This system will own, but to save you money, I suggest getting the e6600 instead. It's about $200 cheaper and just .2 slower. $200 more for a .2 increase in speed is not worth it, for the e6700. You can overclock the e6600 past it. Also the PSU is overkill, and you're not SLIing. So I suggest an OCZ GameXStream 600W.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Everything looks good but cut your RAM in half and get a 2GB kit, Save the money, you won't need 4GB of RAM. Also your PSU seems excessive, You could run an Antec 550 watt with that system for less than that thermaltake PSU. I don't know where you're ordering from though since you're in Australia, So some things might not be available, not sure. I like the case you chose too, Simple and attractive. You should have some fun overclocking that thing!
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

Is there a disadvantage to be prepaired for SLiing? coz i'm not sure. some dude said prepairing for SLi later is useless, you should only get SLi right away or not use it at all.

Oh and the E6700 i could probably push farther than the E6600. Was gonna get the X6800, but total rubbish with the price.

And about cooling, should i get something for the CPU? i do have a bit of money to spare.

[EDIT] Cut my ram was what the last salesman for my old PC said, now i am desperate for more ram for my old PC, never can be over prepaired... Anyway, i could do more stuff quicker.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Well, I'm just saying cut the ram because you already have a beast of a CPU and 2GB is pretty much the sweet spot for a gaming rig. And if you have money, invest in a zalemen CPU cooler and some arctic silver thermal paste. Also SLI is something you can "prepare" for if you'd like to use it at some point. I don't see the point in buying two cards though when you can just buy one really good card and be done with it.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

i've had a look at the zalman coolers, theres tons? which one! the golden orb II looks good...
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Post the website that you're buying this from.

Drop the processor to an E6600. This will overclock this as far as the E6700.

Drop the memory to 2 x 1GB. Nothing uses more than that at this moment, and you can always add another 2 x 1GB if the need arises. Note: YOU WILL NOT be able to do anything quicker simply by having a large amount of RAM. The RAM has to be used, and if 1.5GB are being used, then you will see ZERO difference between 4GB and 2GB memory.

Drop the PSU to something more reasonable. Its way overkill. I'm getting tired of repeating myself, so I'll just link this.

Good Lord, drop the motherboard. See if you can get a hold of the ASUS P5B Deluxe. It'll do everything that the P5N32 can do.

Change the Hard Drives to smaller versions, and then combine them to add up to your 750GB. It'll save you a lot of money too.

IIRC, the Blue Orb II is made by Thermaltake. You'll want either the Zalman 9500 or 9700.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Whichever one floats your boat, I don't think they make a bad cooler. Just make sure you get one that fits your CPU socket. The only thing to worry about with Zalman is the size, but you have a roomy case so you'd be fine.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

www.umart.net oh and even with SLi 8800s i won't need 850W?

Oh and i do lots of stuff at the same time, so i might as well get a crazy amount of ram, vista allows it too.

probably going with the golden orb II. looks good.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Nah, you still won't need that amount of watts to run that. The thing is you wanna look more for a good trusted PSU company more so than alot of watts. A good 500 watt will outperform and outlast a crappy 1000 watt.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.