Help building a gaming rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 08:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Default Help building a gaming rig

ok so im planning to build my first pc. Im building to run top of the line games on full settings. Ive chosen out some part but im not really sure if the setup is the best for the price or if all the parts will work together. Im not really sure if i want to use intel or amd because although the core 2 duo is the best right now i still kinda want to go with amd. I also heard that the amd processors work really good with ati graphics cards. As for the mobo.....im really not sure. I have looked at a lot but im gonna need help with this one. I want a mobo that will take full advantage of my hardware. And also i plan to use a crossfire setup in the future so want it to be compatible. my budget is about 2000 bucks max. So id really appreciate it if anybody can help me get the most "bang for my buck". Ill list the parts that i have chosen so far. any suggestions are appreciated. Also i may not but i might do some overclocking.

CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103545

Graphics - ati x1950 xtx

RAM - (not sure about this one)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227169

HD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148139

MotherBoard - none(need help on this one)

Case - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144151(will this fit everything ok and cool properly?)

Powersupply - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148026

Monitor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824002312(will this do for a temporary monitor?).

oh and do i need to buy something for internet. or do mobos come with ethernet capabilities. thx
__________________

SmellyOne is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default

NECs make good monitors, i agree with ur choices. 4600+ is a very good cpu. i wud recommend 4800+ for you bcuz u pay only 30$ more but u get double the L2 cache which i think is very beneficial when playing games. all mobos today have ethernet capabilities, in fact, most of the new ones have gigabit LAN like this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136009

gud luk



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103540
__________________

__________________
www.cgkevin.com
heffer is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Default

thanks a lot for the cpu suggestion......and for the mobo......this really helped.........oh and do u think the ram i picked is fine or are there better options for gaming. The only reason i chose the one i did is because its "ati certified" and i thought maybe it would be better for my graphics card. But then again it could just be a sales pitch or something
SmellyOne is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Default

ok ive changed the ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

im just more comfortable with corsair.
SmellyOne is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

diff mobo:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136017

same brand etc as the other guy suggested but socket AM2

although you would need a diff CPU this is the closest to the one you picked:

AMD 4200+ X2 socket AM2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103747

the only diff is about 200 GHz
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Default

well......i was stubborn at first and wanted an amd but after reading all the great reviews on the core 2 duo.....i think im gonna give in and just buy the e6600

will i need i different mobo?
SmellyOne is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yes you will need a new mobo Id go for a gigabyte DS3 or Asus P5B
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to sarge52
Default

yes you will need another mobo if you want to get intel. that case says it's got 2x 80mm fans, I've always gone with the rule of thumb "bigger is better" so I shoot for 120mm fans. it might work, but here's my case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v284/Sarge52/dbzsurge111.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\">
sarge52 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sarge52
I've always gone with the rule of thumb "bigger is better" 9154
good job my girlfriend doesn't have that mentality
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.