help for a $1000 rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default help for a $1000 rig

well i'm looking at building a gaming rig and just having the fastest computer i can for $1000. i've been looking into this for a while and i've found out what i think i wanna get but i don't know if it's what you guys would suggest.

ALSO i've been told my my more computer savy (only slighly nerdier) friends that i should get liquid cooling as well. would a $1000 build even be worth the liquid cooling?

here's my current rig i'm planning on getting:

MSI - Socket 939, ATX, nForce4, 4GB DDR, 1000MHz FSB
76.50 K8NNEO4F

AMD Athlon 64 3500+
$114.00 ADA3500BPBOX

XCLIO Black 250mm fan (6 open 80mm fan slots)
48.00 6010BK

OCZ Value Series 2GB (2 x 1GB)
142.00 OCZ4002048V3DC-K

Maxtor DiamondMax 200GB Serial ATA150, 7200 RPM 16MB Cache
80.00 Model #: 6L200S0

NEC Black 16X DVD¬ĪR DVD Burner
37.50 Model #: ND-3550A BK OEM

eVGA GeForce 7600 GT - 256MB, PCI Express x16, Dual DVI Core - .58 Ghz, RAMDAC - .4 Ghz, Mem - 1.5 Ghz, GDDR3
156.00 (with rebate) 256P2N553AX

Acer AL1916W 19" LCD Monitor 19", 1440x900, 8ms, PC
215.00 ETL5209005



OK just one more question...is that processor good enough for my system? because i've been looking at everybody else's systems and you all have way better processors.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Looks like a nice setup to me, I recommend you streatch a little and get the 3700+ though. I dont think its worth getting watercooling on that system to be honest.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

All of that looks good and compatible. But you left out the PSU and case. Also, do you plan on getting an aftermarket HSF for your CPU? They cool a lot better than the stock one and will make it easier to overclock if you ever decide to.

You should also get this HD. Same price, more space, and a better brand: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

you are going to need a case and an aftermarket PSU preferably. Most PSUs that come with the cases are terrible. and btw, a 250mm fan on a 80mm fan slot??
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Haha wtf, I didn't notice that the first time I looked through.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default

I wouldnt personally go with the maxtor.. ive heard wayyy too many bad things about them. I.E. -- crashing, overheating, etc.. Go with Seagate or Western Digital.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by motoxer4533
I wouldnt personally go with the maxtor.. ive heard wayyy too many bad things about them. I.E. -- crashing, overheating, etc.. Go with Seagate or Western Digital.
yeah, agreed. Personally, I think Western Digital is a better brand, but that is just my opinion.
Spartan is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

ok thanks guys. the XCLIO 25 cm fan is actually the case (ie. it's got a 25 cm. fan in the side with 4 open 80mm. fans in front and 2 at the back) http://www.pricewatch.com/brands/cases/xclio-1.htm

sorry about not posting the PSU as well. i'm looking at getting this:
Antec TruePower 2.0 TP-II 550W
80.00 http://castle.pricewatch.com/s/search.asp?s=TPII550

here's the HD i'll switch to as well:
Western Digital Caviar SE16 (250GB Serial ATA II, 7200RPM, 16MB
cache)
90.00 http://www.pricegrabber.com/p__WD_Ca...earch=WD2500KS


how's that look now?
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

oh yeah since i'm switching to the western digital with SATA 2 i'll need to switch to a different motherboard as well (which doesn't bother me at all.)
how's this one:
ASRock - Socket 939, ATX, 4GB DDR, 1GHz Bus, SATA 2 /// PCI x3, PCI-1 x0, PCI-4 x1, PCI-16 x2, SATA x4, IDE x2, Fan x2
87.00 939SLI32ESATA2
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

would you guys suggest me going for a 3700+ or a 3800+? i'm seeing that:

3700+ is 2.2 Ghz, with a 1 MB L2 cache ($200)

3800+ is 2.4 Ghz with a 512 Kb L2 cache ($140-150)

both have a 1 Ghz front side bus but i can get one with an 800 Mhz. (1 Ghz is better right?)

haha i know how to use computers just not how they work. lol
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.