Heating issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2005, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Default Heating issues

Hello Guys!
I got a Pentium D 820 for my first build, but I heard it had problems with overheating, so I got a Zalman 7700AlCu. However, when I installed it the first time it said it was running at over 55c idle and almost 70c load, so I reinstalled it, being careful to follow arctic silver's instructions. It still runs at 48c idle and 65c load even with the fan turned up all the way! I wondering if you have any advice for me?
__________________

mtb2005 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 19
Default

You did put heat sink paste on it right?

This fan would probably solve your problem.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...272112&CatId=0
__________________

Ghostrida is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

intels are known to run hot.. that doesnt suprise me.. maybe you still put too much thermal paste on..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

What cools the rest of your Case?

The more cooling in the case, can also cool a proc much more.

Also what power supply, those can impact heat also.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

My guess would be the HEATSINK & FAN aren't properly mounted on the CPU Socket, which is LGA775 and known to have mounting issues.

A little thermal paste in the right amount might help too.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Expansion bay fans?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

how do you know if u have put to much thermal paste on?
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iam_not_2fast4u
how do you know if u have put to much thermal paste on?
Yea, really.

I have a Raidmax X-1 case
1 120mm exhaust fan
1 80mm intake fan right over the proc.
2 80mm fans (1 intake to power supply, 1 exhaust from power supply
Temp inside case is 35-45 (idle-load app.) Same with graphics card (X800GTO Connect3d). I thought the graphics card ran abit hot... Would it help to make the intake fan have a pipe directly to the Zalman 7700's fan? It looks as if the 80 intake's air would be pulled directly out by the 120mm. Air around the case is 20c
There's a mount for a 80/92/120mm fan in the front.
Would it help to mod the case with a 120mm fan out the top?
Anyways, thanks for the replies!
mtb2005 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Let me get this right, useing to much thermal paste would cause the heat sink not to cool it fully?
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

it would cause it to overheat... think of it like this

putting too big of a blanket on someone would make them hotter.. but if there so-so hot to begin with, they dont need a big blanket.. put a THIN layer of it on there... i like mine to where i cant see any of the proc. but not have it clumping.. just a nice smooth thin layer..
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.