HDTV as moniter? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2006, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default HDTV as moniter?

I don't know much about HD tvs.. what are their max resolution.. and with DVI out can they support 1600*1200ish at a refresh that doesn't burn eyes?

(plan to hook main comp/xbox/ps2/Cable up to the tv)

Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162

Umm, HdTv's arent really good w/ pixels... from what i understand, you get like 1080i which is the best.
I dont t hink it will run off of DVI but correct me if im wrong, i dont own a HDTV (Riche) so i wouldnt know... if its plasma, its gona suck. refresh rates on plasmas are so huge your mouse will ghost... LCD good for computer bc fast refreshes, plasma = good TV because its cheaper to make, and better picture quality...
your gona want a refresh rate above 65hz for it not to burn your eyes, i however would recommend anything over 75hz.

EndofSanity is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 280

That would be pretty cool...
I wish I had my Computer...:(
Unknown Envy is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11

I was wondering the same cause I'm gonna buy this tv and us it as a monitor and tv

dms2425 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
tajahem's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410

You should be fine using that. I'm fairly certain that they demonstrated using an HDTV for a monitor on one of the early episodes of Digital Life. Just keep in mind that you will need to run everything in widescreen format.

Oh yeah and the resolution is 1280x720 and LCD's don't go higher only lower in res.
tajahem is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

European HDTV's go higher I heard.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.