hdmi? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2008, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
J9Darkwing's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default hdmi?

Once again I turn here for some answers. . .
I have an hp w2207h widescreen monitor (22in 1680x1050) with hdmi input. I have 2 8800GT video cards with dvi outputs. Monday we're having cable tv installed and the DVR has an hdmi output and hi-def channels.
I'm currently using a dvi-analog converter plug on my vid card and going into the analog port of the monitor.
My plan was to buy a dvi-hdmi cable and a hdmi switch.
I'm going to run an hdmi cable from the cable box to the switch and run the dvi-hdmi converter cable from my vid card to the hdmi switch and then run the switch to my monitor.
Am I going through all of this for nothing? Will this monitor do HI-Def?
Here's a link to the monitor specs HP w2207h 22" Widescreen flat panel monitor specifications - HP Home & Home Office products
Will I be getting better video quality by doing this rather than using an analog cable and will this monitor work as a tv with the input from the cable box?
Thanks for your input.

~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
ricanflow's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: hdmi?

If it couldint do hi-def, it wouldint have an hdmi input. It supports 720p just like mine. Itll work just fine, but you wont be able to view windows and cable at the same time. I know on mine i can since i have picture in picture, but it only wroks using component or vga in.

3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)

P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx

ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
J9Darkwing's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: hdmi?

I realize that I won't be able to watch both. That's why I was buying a switch since I have only one hdmi input.
I know in this day and age this may sound silly but I have NEVER seen anything in hi-def. Is 720p good?
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
J9Darkwing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 06:43 PM
WTB HDMI cables Dakaggo Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 17 01-23-2008 03:30 AM
PS3 and HDMI zetahammy Sony Playstation 13 08-08-2007 05:29 PM
DVI to HDMI problems SapperX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-18-2007 08:29 PM
Dvi - Hdmi Pinscher New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-04-2007 10:45 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.