HDD Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default HDD Upgrade

ive just ordered a new 320GB hard drive, and i would like to know how i can transfer EVERYTHING (including os) to the new hard drive from my old 80GB hard drive. the old HDD is connected via IDE, and the new one is connected via SATA2 (i think) my old HDD said it was also SATA300 when i bought it back in the days, but i had to connect that via IDE.

anyway if anyone could help me and give me some sites to go too or some free warez for transfering data, it would be muchos appreciatted.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

Set the new HDD as a slave and leave the 80GB as a master then you can start transferring. I don't think there is a way to transfer the OS. You're going to have to install a new fresh OS onto the new 320GB HDD.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

Get a copy of Norton Ghost (or at least the boot disk) or some other drive imaging program. I used a Norton Ghost 2003 boot disk floppy to transfer my OS/everything, and it's been running perfectly for about 4 or 5 months now. I can send you the boot disk via PM if you want. You'll need a floppy drive though. The 2003 version is the easiest to use, IMO. There's a direct copy function when you boot off of it, and it took about an hour for me to clone my 80GB (IDE) drive to my 320GB (SATA) drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

Yes complament on the ghost utility a+ acronis is good to
crazyeyeskiesel2 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

or you cna use backup thats built into windows XP PRO (ONLY PRO).

But i like ghost better.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

okay then id like a copy of that please would be great. but if theres something that doesnt need floppy, id rather use that. i skipped on a floppy drive when upgrading.

im going to be pulling it apart anyway putting this new HDD in, so i may as well install the floppy too. thanks
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HDD Upgrade

Check your PM's.

And then do this: hook up the IDE as a slave. Make sure you have already added a partition to the new HDD (do this by right clicking My Computer > Manage > Disk Management > right click on the drive/add partition, unless it''s not formatted yet, then do that). Boot with that disk tha tyou made from the file I sent you, and then do this: Local > Disk to Disk Copy. That will copy EVERYTHING, including the OS. It'll probly take around an hour or so (that's how long it took me, and I have the same sized drives as you). After its done, turn your PC off, unplug your original drive (unplug the power connector AND the IDE cable). Make sure you boot off of your new drive, and see if it works. I'd recommend using it for a few weeks and see if everything works all right/is stable. If it is, then you can go ahead and plug your old drive back in (make sure you boot off of your SATA drive!!!), and then go ahead and format the old drive (go to Disk management, and delete the aprtitions in the drive..make sure you delete the right ones though!).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best upgrade option for $200 regeisle New Systems | Building and Buying 13 08-10-2007 01:25 PM
got 150$. want to upgrade. cant decide....help siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-07-2007 12:45 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.