HDD trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 09:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default HDD trouble

Okay so i finished my build and it has two hard drives, 80gb barracuda, and 320gb barracuda, i installed my OS (Windows XP) on the 80gb, it gave me a choice between the two drives so it is plugged in. But when i click on the my computer icon, the bigger hard drive doesn't show up. Ideas?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: HDD trouble

go into device manager and make sure it sees the hard drive
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HDD trouble

You have to format it first.

Go to control panel > administrative tools > computer management > disk management > and then right click on the 320gb hard drive (which ever the letter is), and select format. After that, it should show up, in My Computer.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: HDD trouble

Yeah lol i picked it up before i saw that, i had to do the same w/ my external a couple months ago, it was unallocated. I did a quick format and its NTFS, whats the major difference between NTFS and FAT. I heard NTFS is better. Thanks, b1gapl u deserve alot of credit u helped me ALOT today.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HDD trouble

The main difference between NTFS and FAT, is that NTFS can handle much larger files, like a 2GB file.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble configuring headset with new PC motoxer4533 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-14-2007 01:41 AM
Trouble Installing My Anti-virus Program kingrob_513 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 06-20-2007 02:12 PM
Trouble connecting to the internet w/ wireless router AlfaSub Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-29-2007 11:33 PM
Will I get in trouble if I increase my net speed? Ioanni Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-28-2007 10:49 AM
Windows Cursor Patch Causing Trouble Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-05-2007 11:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.