HDD situation... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2007, 03:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default HDD situation...

ok... i am thinking about doing another update this summer

im going to get

PSU - the xcilo 500
RAM - another gig of corsair, dont worry, this xmas ill get gskill, plus im only gona run this at 350mhz fsb
HDD(s)
Sound card - other thread...

my problem is, on Quake 4 (ultra settings, 1024x768, 6x aa, 16x af) runs good, at the peak fps (60, i forget the command to turn vsnyc off >.>) it took literally 5 minutes to load where he gets taken by the people, then they take off his legs ect.

I noticed that my hard drive isn't been doing the best lately, but ive only had it for a year. so my question is

should I use this as storage, and get a seagate for os and games, orr

get another of mine and RAID 0...

any help would be good...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 08:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HDD situation...

You can either get a Seagate 7200.10 hard drive, and use your current as storage. Or get another, like you said, for RAID 0. Just remember if you're doing that, to backup the files on the hard drives, that are in RAID 0. The faster of the two options, would obviously be the RAID 0. It's just a matter if, you don't mind taking the risk, if one hard drive goes down, and you lose data in both hard drives.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: HDD situation...

but its not likely for a hdd to go down. ive never had ne problems
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: HDD situation...

nice upgrade plans.... but RAID 0 is good.... seems silly to worry about the Hard Drive to fail, i mean i have 512mb hard drive that still works........... and its been in constant use on my parents' Pentium 1 system......
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HDD situation...

Yea...I've never had a hard drive failure either, but the thing is you never know. So backup is a must.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: HDD situation...

Second the hard drive backup, isn't norton ghost good for that sort of thing? Anyway, there are programs that create an entire 'ghost' of your hard drives settings files etc, if you have any real doubts about losing your hard drive then look into that. Never put out the idea of mirror raids also, so, you can buy two 7200rpm drives and mirror them. I also believe that name isn't exactly all there is to a hard drive, of course if you want blazing speed, you can always get the seagate barracuda drive at 10,000rpms!
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 07:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: HDD situation...

****, I won my golf match today, but my dad said i have to keep my earnings (40 bucks) for a golf club he wants me to buy for him >.>

so im gona go for the raid. Right now though, I'm saving up for the PSU. Then I'll go for the extra RAM (lets hope for another few dollar price drop , its only 40 though), then the sound card, and then the raid, since it isn't really a high priority, and I dont feel like backing up again, I just did to 15 gigs of music, to find out one of the cds got scratched to the point where it didn't work, and i tried reviving it with o&o but i forgot to set up another partition so i could put the files on there, looks like ill have to do that w/ gparted later :/
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: HDD situation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Yea...I've never had a hard drive failure either, but the thing is you never know. So backup is a must.
Ive had quite a few HDDs fail at my work, but they are about 10-15 years old, haha, seriously.

If you can get two raid drives for the OS and games, and another one for data, thats what i have. My raid drives have been going for 2 years without one problem.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: HDD situation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by meay_helmet View Post
Ive had quite a few HDDs fail at my work, but they are about 10-15 years old, haha, seriously.

If you can get two raid drives for the OS and games, and another one for data, thats what i have. My raid drives have been going for 2 years without one problem.
I can get my drive for 60 bucks w/ shipping on newegg, so ill have 400gb of storage, then get a seagate 80gig drive... maybe a 160...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd situation here wallace Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-16-2007 12:41 AM
DS3 Motherboard Situation PaperNapkin New Systems | Building and Buying 9 05-20-2007 10:40 AM
Windows XP CD Key on 2 PCs !!Need Help with this ASAP!! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 06:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.