hdd for os... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2008, 06:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: hdd for os...

why cant anyone just recommend a small hdd for my os??
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: hdd for os...

buy my raptor?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: hdd for os...

you can get a ocz solid series SSD 30gb on newegg for like $70.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: hdd for os...

but the word is ssd's are buggy on xp.. and how much for your raptor?
overlord20 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: hdd for os...

Quote:
Originally Posted by overlord20 View Post
but the word is ssd's are buggy on xp..
that's one more reason to upgrade to vista SP1 :P
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: hdd for os...

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
that's one more reason to upgrade to vista SP1 :P
Agreed.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: hdd for os...

meh...
overlord20 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: hdd for os...

when i go from vista back to xp it feels like a down grade. apps lock up more when i'm on xp. and xp seems slower than vista.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 10:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA | US
Posts: 161
Default Re: hdd for os...

If anything, shouldn't there be a performance increase on xp since it is a less taxing OS?

On the other hand, Vista might be better optimized for applications and is overall a more evolved OS because it is newer.

Playing the devil's advocate here because this is a debate I'm having right now... whether to go xp 64 bit or vista 64. Of those of you that have it, how do you think xp stacks up to Vista?

And what's the difference between SP1 and SP2?
__________________

Mikepsyche is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.