HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2008, 07:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

my scsi loads windows pretty fast. but again, not really cost effective..well for me it was cause i got the drives for 20 each. but in the overall scheme of life, i would say just get a 500gb 7200.11 drive and you should be set.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
my scsi loads windows pretty fast. but again, not really cost effective..well for me it was cause i got the drives for 20 each. but in the overall scheme of life, i would say just get a 500gb 7200.11 drive and you should be set.
Agreed! lol
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

well, these are the ones that i came up with. but let me know which one to pick
WD 640GB 16 mb cache
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
Segate 500GB 7200.11 32 mb Cache
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
WD 500 16 MB Cache
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
Seagate 7200.10 500GB 16 mb Cache
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

or any other sugestions. what do u guys think of hitachi or samsung's??
thanks
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 07:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

i would personally go with the 7200.11 drive.

also i'm not a fan of samsung, most drives that i see fail are either samsungs or maxtor's. and not overly a fan of hitachi, but never really use them outside of notebook drives.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 10:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

I just put together my system a few weeks ago, and i went with the ST3750330AS.

It's a seagate 750gb 32mb cache sata 3.0 drive. It's supposed to have the best price/performance ratio around. plus it's frickin 750gb! Windows loading times are FAST FAST FAST. it's like night and day compared to my old system.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 10:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

I think the cheapest price per GB right now are 500gb drives. Since they can be found on sale for $80 each.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 10:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

Quote:
Originally Posted by j12 View Post
I think the cheapest price per GB right now are 500gb drives. Since they can be found on sale for $80 each.
i said price/performance not price/gigabyte. :P
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

depends what size files you're reading. the large cashe wont even be used if your just reading lots of small files.
I benched my 7200.11's with HD tach, and for the large bench I averaged faster transfer/read rates than most raptors. ^^
reading smaller files wont even make use of the 32mb cashe, there isnt a need for it to.
it's nice to have though imo. large games, moving large files. i deal with a lot of large stuff so it helps.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

yea like i said earlier for gaming the 32mb cache matters.

Also i agree with bobo about the 750Gb drives.

Seagate has quiet drives too so i'd go with seagate over anything else.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 10:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnOfDoom View Post
yea like i said earlier for gaming the 32mb cache matters.

Also i agree with bobo about the 750Gb drives.

Seagate has quiet drives too so i'd go with seagate over anything else.
lots of ppl are experiencing problems with the 7200.11
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
Raptor 8mb cache versus 16mb cache... UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-12-2007 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.