HD5770 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2011, 07:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 48
Default HD5770

Just wondering what your thoughts on the ATI HD 5770?
__________________

ridsane is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HD5770

Low power, mid(ish)-range. Can play most games on generally high settings. Crysis on lower settings: http://media.bestofmicro.com/3/G/226...%204x%20AA.png

Best for someone who doesn't want to spend much on a good gpu and doesn't care about not being able to play all games on the highest settings.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,838
Default Re: HD5770

Great card for the $$ - not the best - but I have been using both a XFX and a Sapphire 5770 for about 1 year now. Bought the second card for crossfire- but they are not compatible so had to use single card. Moderate gaming on a 50" plasma worked well. The XFX was better performer- but just blew up recently and I am in the process of RMA with the great XFX warranty. cant go wrong at the $110 US range. NOT sure the cost/price situation "down under".
acerinpa is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 48
Default Re: HD5770

"down under" haha cheers.
Anyways, thanks for the replys, guys.
Just one other thing, If I was to run two side by side, what mobo would you suggest?
ridsane is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HD5770

What processor do you have?
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 48
Default Re: HD5770

I'm running a i5 760 (OC'ed to 3.15)
Obviously 1156 socket
ridsane is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HD5770

Newegg.com - ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Make sure your ram speeds are supported...and that you have enough sata ports, etc. Also note these pcie x 16 slots will run at x8 speed when two cards are plugged in, making each card run at half its potential speed. There will be a large performance increase, but not as good as two x16 slots...which I couldn't find.

If you plan on getting two at the same time, I'd recommend getting a newer card because there will be greater performance and less heat...
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 48
Default Re: HD5770

Hmmm, so maybe dont even bother running two? Just get one good one? :P
Also, I only just bought this one btw.
I was also just wondering how to tap into my PC RAM and divert it to the GPU
ridsane is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: HD5770

If that's possible, I don't know how.
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 03-06-2011, 08:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 48
Default Re: HD5770

Argh, spewin.
I've hear from a couple of computer geek friends that its possible but they didnt know how :/
__________________

ridsane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant decide? 8800gtx or HD5770? DesertWolf01 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 03-05-2011 08:15 PM
No Signal w/ ATI RADEON HD5770 bulletz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-30-2010 12:55 PM
My XFX HD5770 Overclock Alive.777 Overclocking and Modding 16 08-08-2010 11:18 PM
Overclocking my XFX HD5770 using ATI Overdrive? Alive.777 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-19-2010 11:38 PM
PowerColor HD5770 Video Card Osiris New Technology and Products 0 11-23-2009 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.