HD4870 or GTX260? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2008, 08:04 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

lol you get paid more than me i'm sure, lol but oh well.. easy job to do when i'm in school since i get to get my homework done.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:04 PM   #32 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

Good luck with the Vern, they are the evil empire of tech support. You have been warned


And Nos, why only at work?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:06 PM   #33 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

ventriac... i only get paid 10 bucks an hour, my job blows.... (then there's always sidework i do for extra money)

and zmatt... because i have nothing better to do at work...

when i'm at home, the only thing my computer does is fold... i don't do anything else with it... because the network drivers on that dell are terrible.. i swear its like using a 56k modem... its so terrible....

every now and then i'll hop on one of my laptops and get on tech forums... but most of my posts are made at work
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:08 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

When you're at work you really don't want to do what you're suppose or in my case you have SO much down time you need something to do, and when you're at home you can do whatever you want, whether or not it's hang out with your family/friends or play video games, and logging on the tech-forums isn't a huge deal, atleast that's how it is in my case, however; i did just start visiting this forum recently.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

Poor phenoms, promised so much, delivered crashed OS's and poor overclocks.


At least AMD's video cards rock.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:11 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

yeah, that's interesting i get paid more than that to pretend to look alert in a multi-million dollar building, lol.

Your computer connection at work might be terrible, but my work computer i'm sure is worse..
This badboy is running a P2 350mhz processor, 256 ram, and this thing is slower than death. my P4 seems fast when i get home and get on mine.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:16 PM   #37 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

LOL a P2! I stripped the plastic cover off one and made a belt buckle out of it. Heck my old high school had completely switched over to p4 or better systems by the time I had left, and that's on a crummy public school budget.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:16 PM   #38 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

i was talking about my dell at home

i'm used to running highend system.. b ut i recently sold my q6700, e8500, x38, and 680i

so i got a free dell housing a p4 to use for the meantime... and well, it just plain makes me sad... funny i have a gtx280 sitting in it.... ghetto rigged with a 2nd psu connected to it
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:23 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

Yes a P2, apparently they can't afford a 400$ upgrade, if i worked here more than 2 days a week i'd make a computer and bring it in, but i only work here on weekend nights, and work at other places. So after i build my nahalem i might buy a laptop and split the internet, because I don't think they have wireless... They have the internet setup like my old school system did. If i were to plug my laptop into it randomly would i have to set up the network or would the internet work?
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:48 PM   #40 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: HD4870 or GTX260?

Depends on how they have it setup. If its jsut a simple windows network then you should be able to plug in and work away. But if they have their own domain then you will have to register your ip with the IT department to get the laptop to actually work on the network.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA GTX 280 superclocked and Diamond HD4870 Guff1988 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 08-20-2008 02:17 PM
Can my PSU handle HD4870 ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 08-11-2008 03:48 PM
evga gtx260 375!!! Poizen22 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 07-03-2008 11:24 AM
ATI HD4870 suffering from premature deaths maroon1 New Technology and Products 12 06-30-2008 07:56 PM
gtx260 now availabke Poizen22 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 36 06-30-2008 07:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.