HD stuck in slave mode? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2007, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default HD stuck in slave mode?

Hi guys, just got finished putting my comp together, well a friend really did it. I have the seagate 320gb HD, and it seems to be stuck in slave mode. When i go to bios its under slave 0 cannot get it to go to master 0. I cannot install windows because it cannot find the drive, im guessing because its in slave?
__________________

ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

Go to your Boot Selection Menu and boot the HDD first. I think it's F8 when you first start your computer.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

HD was selected as first boot. Gonna try tho. How do i install windows if im not booting from a cd?
ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

tried it, comp is sitting at the pci devices listing.
ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

Can you access BIOS?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

yea (too short)
ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

im in bois, IDE channel 0 master is none and IDE channel 0 slave is my HD...cant seem to get it to change.
ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

I'm guessing your HDD is an IDE right? Are you able to disable the Slave? Is your jumpers set to slave?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

i dunno? lol i guess
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
ulcajun is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: HD stuck in slave mode?

i can set slave to none...and im not sure what jumpers are
__________________

ulcajun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Stuck Pixel. Kibbles8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 11-27-2007 12:30 PM
Is there any way I can lock windows in 32 bpp mode? MADWAD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-01-2007 07:48 PM
Troubles with slave HD. Freezing. dentonx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-12-2007 08:08 AM
HELP emachines ? sleep mode?? agent 99 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-06-2007 02:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.